1971 No. 392 (L.8)

SUPREME COURT OF JUDICATURE, ENGLAND OFFICERS AND OFFICES

The District Registries Order 1971

Made - - - -

11th March 1971

Coming into Operation

19th April 1971

At the Court at Buckingham Palace, the 11th day of March 1971 Present,

The Queen's Most Excellent Majesty in Council

Her Majesty, in excercise of the powers conferred on Her by section 84 of the Supreme Court of Judicature (Consolidation) Act 1925(a) is pleased, by and with the advice of Her Privy Council, to order, and it is hereby ordered, as follows:—

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the District Registries Order 1971 and shall come into operation on 19th April 1971.
- (2) The Interpretation Act 1889(b) shall apply to the interpretation of this Order as it applies to the interpretation of an Act of Parliament.
- 2.—(1) There shall be district registries of the High Court at the places specified in the first column of the schedule to this Order.
- (2) For the purpose of this Order, the name of every place so specified shall be deemed to be the name of the district registry at that place.
- (3) The district of every such district registry shall be the area comprising the districts for the time being of the county courts specified in the second column of the schedule opposite the name of the district registry in the first column.
- 3. The District Registries Orders in Council 1966(c), 1968(d) and 1969(e) are hereby revoked.

W. G. Agnew.

⁽a) 1925 c. 49. (b) 1889 c. 63.

⁽d) S.I. 1968/579 (1968 I, p. 1345).

⁽c) S.I. 1966/1189 (1966 III, p. 3188).

⁽e) S.I. 1969/1232 (1969 II, p. 3588).

SCHEDULE

First Column	Second Column	First Column	Second Column
District Registries	Districts defined by reference to County Court Districts	District Registries	Districts defined by reference to County Court Districts
Aberystwyth	Aberystwyth Dolgellau Machynlleth	Bournemouth	Bournemouth Lymington Poole Wimborne Minster
Bangor	Bangor Llangefni and Holyhead	Bradford	Bradford
Barnsley	Barnsley	Bridgend	Bridgend Neath and Port Talbot
Barnstaple	Barnstaple Bideford	Bridgwater	Bridgwater
Barrow in Furness	Barrow in Furness and Ulverston	Brighton	Brighton Haywards Heath Lewes
Bath	Bath Chippenham Devizes Frome Trowbridge	Bristol	Bristol Thornbury Wells Weston super Mare
Bedford	Warminster Bedford Biggleswade	Builth	Brecknock Builth Llandovery Llandrindod Wells
Birkenhead	Birkenhead Ellesmere Port	Burnley	Accrington Burnley Nelson Rawtenstall Todmorden
Birmingham	Birmingham Redditch		
Blackburn	Blackburn	Bury	Bury
Blackpool	Blackpool	Bury Saint Edmunds	Bury Saint Edmunds
Blackwood	Bargoed Blackwood, Tredegar and Abertillery		Sudbury Thetford
		Caernarvon	Caernarvon Conway, Llandudno and
Bolton	Bolton		Colwyn Bay Portmadoc
Boston	Boston Skegness and Spilsby Sleaford Spalding	Cambridge	Bishop's Stortford Cambridge Ely Newmarket

First Column	Second Column	First Column	Second Column
District Registries	Districts defined by reference to County Court Districts	District Registries	Districts defined by reference to County Court Districts
Canterbury	Ashford Canterbury	Dorchester	Dorchester Weymouth
Cardiff	Barry Cardiff	Dover	Deal Dover Folkestone
Carlisle	Carlisle Penrith	Dudley	Dudley Kidderminster
Carmarthen	Ammanford Carmarthen Lampeter Llanelli	Durham	Stourbridge Bishop Auckland Durham
Cheltenham	Cheltenham	Eastbourne	Eastbourne
Chester	Chester Runcorn	Exeter	Exeter Okehampton Tiverton
Chesterfield	Alfreton Chesterfield Mansfield	Gloucester	Gloucester Stroud
Chichester	Worksop Chichester	Great Grimsby	Great Grimsby Louth
Colchester	Braintree	Great Yarmouth	Great Yarmouth
Colchester and Clacton Harwich Maldon	Clacton Harwich	Guildford	Aldershot and Farnham Guildford
Coventry	Banbury Coventry Nuneaton Stratford on Avon Warwick	Halifax	Halifax
		Harrogate	Harrogate
		Hartlepool	Hartlepool
Crewe	Crewe Northwich	Hastings	Hastings
Darlington	Darlington Northallerton	Haverfordwest	Cardigan Haverfordwest
Derby	Burton upon Trent Buxton Derby	Hereford	Hereford Leominster Ludlow
	Matlock	Huddersfield	Huddersfield
Dewsbury Doncaster	Dewsbury Doncaster East Retford Rotherham Thorne	Ipswich	Halesworth Ipswich Stowmarket Woodbridge

First Column	Second Column	First Column	Second Column
District Registries	Districts defined by reference to County Court Districts	District Registries	Districts defined by reference to County Court Districts
Keighley	Keighley Skipton	Newport, Isle of Wight	Newport, Isle of Wight
Kendal	Kendal	Newport	Chepstow Monmouth Newport Pontypool and Abergavenny
King's Lynn	King's Lynn Wisbech	(Monmouthshire)	
Kingston upon Hull	Beverley Goole Kingston upon Hull	Newtown	Newtown Welshpool
Lancaster	Lancaster	Northampton	Bletchley and Leighton Buzzard Corby Kettering
Leeds	Leeds Otley	Northampton	
Leicester	Ashby de la Zouch Hinckley Leicester		Northampton Rugby Wellingborough
	Loughborough Melton Mowbray	Norwich	East Dereham Norwich
Lincoln	Gainsborough Grantham Lincoln Newark	Nottingham	Ilkeston Nottingham
Liverpool	Liverpool	Oldham	Ashton under Lyne and Stalybridge Oldham
Lowestoft	Lowestoft	Outand	
Luton	Hertford Hitchin Luton	Oxford	Aylesbury Didcot Oxford Thame
Maidstone	Maidstone	Data-da and d	Witney
Manchester	Altrincham Manchester Salford	Peterborough	Huntingdon Peterborough Stamford
Merthyr Tydfil	Merthyr Tydfil	Plymouth	Kingsbridge Launceston Liskeard Plymouth
Middlesbrough	Middlesbrough		
Newcastle upon Tyne	Alnwick Berwick upon Tweed Blyth Morpeth Newcastle upon Tyne	Pontefract	Pontefract
		Pontypridd	Aberdare Caerphilly Pontypridd and Ystradyfodwg

First Column	Second Column	First Column	Second Column
District Registries	Districts defined by reference to County Court Districts	District Registries	Districts defined by reference to County Court Districts
Portsmouth	Petersfield Portsmouth	Stafford	Stafford
Preston	Chorley Preston	Stockport	Hyde Macclesfield Stockport
Ramsgate	Margate Ramsgate	Stockton on Tees	Stockton on Tees
Reading	Basingstoke Newbury Reading Slough	Stoke on Trent	Congleton Leek Stoke on Trent Uttoxeter
Rhyl	Denbigh and Ruthin Holywell	Sunderland	Consett Gateshead Hexham Sunderland
Rochdale	Rhyl	Swansea	Swansea
	Dartford	Swindon	Malmesbury Swindon
Rochester	Gravesend Rochester Sheerness	Taunton	Minehead Taunton
Saint Helens	Saint Helens	Torquay	Newton Abbot Torquay
Salisbury	Andover Salisbury Shaftesbury	Truro	Bodmin Penzance Redruth Saint Austell
Scarborough	Bridlington Scarborough Whitby		Truro and Falmouth
Scunthorpe	Scunthorpe	Tunbridge Wells	Cranbrook East Grinstead Sevenoaks Tonbridge
Sheffield	Sheffield		
Shrewsbury	Knighton Market Drayton	1	Tunbridge Wells
SI	Shrewsbury Wellington	Wakefield	Wakefield
	Whitchurch	Walsall	Lichfield Tamworth Walsall
Southampton	Southampton	Warrington	Warrington
Southend	Southend	West Bromwich	West Bromwich
Southport	Southport	<u> </u>	
South Shields	North Shields South Shields	Whitehaven	Whitehaven Workington

First Column	Second Column	First Column	Second Column
District Registries	Districts defined by reference to County Court Districts	District Registries	Districts defined by reference to County Court Districts
Wigan	Leigh Wigan	Worthing	Horsham Worthing
Winchester	Winchester	Wrexham	Mold Oswestry Wrexham
Wolverhampton	Bridgnorth Wolverhampton		
Worcester Bromsgrove Evesham Great Malvern Worcester	Evesham	Yeovil	Axminster and Chard Yeovil
	York	Malton York	

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This Note is not part of the Order.)

This Order supersedes the District Registries Order in Council 1966, as amended, and takes into account subsequent alterations in county court districts. It also establishes district registries at Keighley and Pontefract. The district of the Keighley District Registry is to include the district of the Skipton County Court. The district of the Aylesbury County Court is included in that of the Oxford District Registry and the district of the new county court at Corby is included in that of the Northampton District Registry.