STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1968 No. 1978 (L.23)

COUNTY COURTS

The County Courts (Race Relations Jurisdiction) Order 1968

Made - - - 11th December 1968

Coming into Operation 15th January 1969

- I, Gerald, Baron Gardiner, Lord High Chancellor of Great Britain, in exercise of the powers conferred on me by section 19(2) and (3) of the Race Relations Act 1968(a), hereby make the following Order:—
- 1. The courts mentioned in column 1 of the schedule to this Order are hereby appointed to have jurisdiction to entertain proceedings under section 19 of the Race Relations Act 1968 and the districts of those courts for the purpose of such proceedings shall, in addition to their existing districts, include the districts of the courts mentioned opposite thereto in column 2 of the schedule.
- 2.—(1) This Order may be cited as the County Courts (Race Relations Jurisdiction) Order 1968 and shall come into operation on 15th January 1969.
- (2) The Interpretation Act 1889(b) shall apply to the interpretation of this Order as it applies to the interpretation of an Act of Parliament.

Dated 11th December 1968.

Gardiner, C.

SCHEDULE

Column 1	Column 2 Court districts constituting enlarged districts	
Courts having jurisdiction		
Birmingham	Bridgnorth Bromsgrove Burton on Trent Coventry Dudley Evesham Great Malvern Hereford Kettering Kidderminster Kington Leek Leominster Lichfield Ludlow Market Drayton Newcastle under Lyme Nuneaton	Redditch Rugby Shrewsbury Stafford Stoke on Trent Stourbridge Stratford on Avon Tamworth Uttoxeter Walsall Warwick Wellingborough Wellington Welshpool West Bromwich Whitchurch Wolverhampton Worcester
Bristol	Bath Bridgwater Bridport Cheltenham Chippenham Cirencester Devizes Dursley Frome Gloucester Malmesbury Marlborough	Melksham Minehead Ross Stroud Swindon Taunton Thornbury Trowbridge Warminster Wells Weston super Mare Wincanton Yeovil
Cambridge	Bishops Stortford Bury St. Edmunds Cromer Downham Market East Dereham Ely Fakenham Great Yarmouth Halesworth Hitchin Huntingdon Ipswich	Kings Lynn Lowestoft March Newmarket Norwich Peterborough Stowmarket Sudbury Swaffham Thetford Wisbech Woodbridge
Canterbury	Ashford Deal Dover Folkestone	Margate Ramsgate Sheerness Sittingbourne
Cardiff	Aberdare Aberystwyth	Chepstow Haverfordwest

Column 1	Column 2	
Courts having jurisdiction	Court districts constituting enlarged districts	
Cardiff (cont.)	Ammanford Bargoed Barry Blackwood, Tredegar & Abertillery Brecknock Bridgend Builth Caerphilly Cardigan Carmarthen	Lampeter Llandovery Llanelli Merthyr Tydfil Monmouth Neath & Port Talbot Newport (Mon.) Pontypool & Abergavenny Pontypridd & Ystradyfodwg Swansea
Carlisle	Barrow in Furness & Ulverston Kendal Penrith & Appleby	Whitehaven & Millom Windermere Workington & Cockermouth
Exeter	Axminster & Chard Barnstaple Bideford Holsworthy Honiton	Newton Abbot Okehampton South Molton Tiverton Torquay
Leeds	Barnsley Beverley Bradford Bridlington Dewsbury Doncaster Goole Great Driffield Halifax Harrogate Huddersfield Keighley Kingston on Hull	Malton Otley Pontefract Ripon Rotherham Scarborough Sheffield Skipton Thorne Wakefield Whitby York
Manchester	Accrington Altrincham Ashton under Lyne & Stalybridge Birkenhead Blackburn Blackpool Bolton Burnley Burry Congleton Chester Chorley Crewe Ellesmere Port Hyde Lancaster	Leigh Liverpool Macclesfield Nelson Northwich Oldham Preston Rawtenstall Rochdale Runcorn St. Helens & Widnes Salford Southport Stockport Todmorden Warrington

Column 1	Column 2			
Courts having jurisdiction Newcastle upon Tyne	Court districts constituting enlarged districts		Court districts constit	uting enlarged districts
	Alnwick Barnard Castle Berwick upon Tweed Bishop Auckland Blyth Consett Darlington Durham Gateshead Hartlepool	Hexham Middlesbrough Morpeth Northallerton North Shields Richmond South Shields Stockton on Tees Sunderland		
Nottingham	Alfreton Ashby de la Zouch Boston Buxton Chesterfield Derby East Retford Gainsborough Grantham Great Grimsby Hinckley Ilkeston Leicester Lincoln	Loughborough Louth Mansfield Market Harborough Matlock Melton Mowbray Newark Oakham Scunthorpe Skegness & Spilsby Sleaford Spalding Stamford Worksop		
Oxford	Aylesbury Banbury Bletchley & Leighton Buzzard Chipping Norton Newbury	Northampton Reading Thame Wallingford Wantage Witney		
Plymouth	Bodmin Camelford Helston Kingsbridge Launceston Liskeard Newquay	Penzance Redruth St. Austell Tavistock Truro & Falmouth		
Southampton	Andover Arundel Basingstoke Bournemouth Chichester Dorchester Lymington Newport, Isle of Wight Petersfield	Poole Portsmouth Ringwood Salisbury Shaftesbury Swanage Weymouth Wimborne Minster Winchester		
Westminster	Aldershot Amersham Barnet Bedford	Haywards Heath Hemel Hempstead Hertford High Wycombe		

Column 1	Column 2 Court districts constituting enlarged districts		
Courts having jurisdiction			
Westminster (cont.)	Biggleswade Bloomsbury & Marylebone Bow Braintree Brentford Brentwood Brighton Bromley Chelmsford Clerkenwell Colchester & Clacton Cranbrook Croydon Dartford Dorking Eastbourne East Grinstead Edmonton Epsom Gravesend Grays Thurrock	Horsham Ilford Kingston upon Thames Lambeth Lewes Luton Maidstone Maldon Mayor's & City of London Reigate Rochester Saint Albans Sevenoaks Shoreditch Slough Southend Southwark Tonbridge Tunbridge Wells Uxbridge Wandsworth	
Wrexham	Guildford Harlow Harwich Hastings Bala & Corwen Bangor Caernarvon Conway, Llandudno & Colwyn Bay Denbigh & Ruthin Dolgellau Holywell Knighton Llandrindod Wells Llangefni, Holyhead & Menai Bridge	Watford West London Willesden Woolwich Worthing Llanidloes Llanrwst Machynlleth Mold Newtown Oswestry Portmadoc & Blaenau Festiniog Pwllheli Rhyl	

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This Note is not part of the Order.)

This Order appoints 16 county courts in England and Wales as courts to exercise jurisdiction in proceedings brought under the Race Relations Act 1968, and defines the districts of those courts as enlarged for the purpose of this jurisdiction. The courts are the Birmingham, Bristol, Cambridge, Canterbury, Cardiff, Carlisle, Exeter, Leeds, Manchester, Newcastle upon Tyne, Nottingham, Oxford, Plymouth, Southampton, Westminster and Wrexham County Courts.