

British North America Act 1867

1867 CHAPTER 3

IV.—LEGISLATIVE POWER

The Senate

Representation of Provinces in Senate.

In relation to the Constitution of the Senate *Canada* shall be deemed to consist of Three Divisions :

- 1. Ontario;
- 2. Quebec;
- 3. The Maritime Provinces, *Nova Scotia* and *New Brunswick*; which Three Divisions shall (subject to the Provisions of this Act) be equally represented in the Senate as follows: *Ontario* by Twenty-four Senators; *Quebec* by Twenty-four Senators; and the Maritime Provinces by Twenty-four Senators, Twelve thereof representing *Nova Scotia*, and Twelve thereof representing *New Brunswick*.

In the Case of *Quebec* each of the Twenty-four Senators representing that Province shall be appointed for One of the Twenty-four Electoral Divisions of *Lower Canada* specified in Schedule A. to Chapter One of the Consolidated Statutes of *Canada*.