

# British North America Act 1867

# **1867 CHAPTER 3**

# II.—UNION

## **3** Declaration of Union.

It shall be lawful for the Queen, by and with the Advice of Her Majesty's Most Honourable Privy Council, to declare by Proclamation that, on and after a Day therein appointed, not being more than Six Months after the passing of this Act, the Provinces of *Canada*, *Nova Scotia*, and *New Brunswick* shall form and be One Dominion under the Name of *Canada*; and on and after that Day those Three Provinces shall form and be One Dominion under that Name accordingly.

#### 4 Construction of subsequent Provisions of Act.

The subsequent Provisions of this Act shall, unless it is otherwise expressed or implied, commence and have effect on and after the Union, that is to say, on and after the Day appointed for the Union talking effect in the Queen's Proclamation; and in the same Provisions, unless it is otherwise expressed or implied, the Name *Canada* shall be taken to mean *Canada* as constituted under this Act.

#### 5 Four Provinces.

*Canada* shall be divided into Four Provinces, named *Ontario*, *Quebec*, *Nova Scotia*, and *New Brunswick*.

## 6 **Provinces of Ontario and Quebec.**

The Parts of the Province of *Canada* (as it exists at the passing of this Act) which formerly constituted respectively the Provinces of *Upper Canada* and *Lower Canada* shall be deemed to be severed, and shall form Two separate Provinces. The Part which formerly constituted the Province of *Upper Canada* shall constitute the Province of *Ontario*; and the Part which formerly constituted the Province of *Lower Canada* shall constitute the Province of *Quebec*.

**Status:** This is the original version (as it was originally enacted). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

## 7 Provinces of Nova Scotia and New Brunswick.

The Provinces of *Nova Scotia* and *New Brunswick* shall have the same Limits as at the passing of this Act.

#### 8 Decennial Census.

In the general Census of the Population of *Canada* which is hereby required to be taken in the Year One thousand eight hundred and seventy-one, and in every Tenth Year thereafter, the respective Populations of the Pour Provinces shall be distinguished.