

British North America Act 1867

1867 CHAPTER 3

XI.—ADMISSION OF OTHER COLONIES

146 Power to admit Newfoundland, &c. into the Union.

It shall be lawful for the Queen, by and with the Advice of Her Majesty's Most Honourable Privy Council, on Addresses from the Houses of the Parliament of *Canada*, and from the Houses of the respective Legislatures of the Colonies or Provinces of *Newfoundland*, *Prince Edward Island*, and *British Columbia*, to admit those Colonies or Provinces, or any of them, into the Union, and on Address from the Houses of the Parliament of *Canada* to admit Rupert's Land and the North-western Territory, or either of them, into the Union, on such Terms and Conditions in each Case as are in the Addresses expressed and as the Queen thinks fit to approve, subject to the Provisions of this Act; and the Provisions of any Order in Council in that Behalf shall have effect as if they had been enacted by the Parliament of the United Kingdom of *Great Britain* and *Ireland*.

147 As to Representation of Newfoundland and Prince Edward Island in Senate.

In case of the Admission of *Newfoundland* and *Prince Edward Island*, or either of them, each shall be entitled to a Representation in the Senate of *Canada* of Four Members, and (notwithstanding anything in this Act) in case of the Admission of *Newfoundland* the normal Number of Senators shall be Seventy-six and their maximum Number shall be Eighty-two; but *Prince Edward Island* when admitted shall be deemed to be comprised in the third of the Three Divisions into which *Canada* is, in relation to the Constitution of the Senate, divided by this Act, and accordingly, after the Admission of *Prince Edward Island*, whether *Newfoundland* is admitted or not, the Representation of *Nova Scotia* and *New Brunswick* in the Senate shall, as Vacancies occur, be reduced from Twelve to Ten Members respectively, and the Representation of each of those Provinces shall not be increased at any Time beyond Ten, except under the Provisions of this Act for the Appointment of Three or Six additional Senators under the Direction of the Queen.