

Jurors (Scotland) Act 1825

1825 CHAPTER 22

VIII Number of Jurors required to attend at the Circuits.

And be it enacted, That when the Attendance of Jurors at the Circuits is required, Notice shall be given by the Clerk of Court to the Sheriffs of the Counties, or Stewarts of the Stewartries within the Circuit, of the Number of Jurors required; and each Sheriff or Stewart shall thereupon return to the said Clerk a List subscribed by him, taken from the General and Special Jury Books aforesaid, containing the Number of Persons so required ; which Return, where Forty-five Jurors are required, shall contain Ten for the County of *Berwick*, Seven for the County of *Peebles*, Eight for the County of Selkirk, Twenty for the County of Roxburgh, Thirty for the County of Dumfries, Fifteen for the Stewartry of Kircudbright, Ten for the County of Wigton, Thirty-five for the County of Ayr, Ten for the County of Renfrew, Twenty-one for the City of Glasgow, Anderston, Gorbals, and the Calton, Nine for the rest of the County of Lanark, Five for the County of Dumbarton, Ten for the County of Bute, Thirty-five for the County of Argyle, Twenty-five for the County of Stirling, Ten for the County of Clackmannan, Ten for the County of Kinross, Fifteen for the County of Perth, Fifteen for the County of *Fife*, Fifteen for the County of *Forfar*, Ten for the County of *Kincardine*, Twentyfive for the County of Aberdeen, Ten for the County of Banff, Six for the County of Elgin, Six for the County of Nairn, Eighteen for the County of Inverness, Nine for the County of Ross and Cromarty, Three for the County of Sutherland, and Three for the County of Caithness ; and wherever a greater Number than Forty-five Jurors shall be required, the Numbers in the Return aforesaid shall be increased according to the Proportions above specified : Provided always, that it shall be competent for the Court of Justiciary, as Circumstances may require, to alter these Proportions by Act of Adjournal.