

Cyprus Act 1960

1960 CHAPTER 52

2 The Sovereign Base Areas

- (1) The Republic of Cyprus shall comprise the entirety of the Island of Cyprus with the exception of the two areas defined as mentioned in the following subsection, and—
 - (a) nothing in the foregoing section shall affect Her Majesty's sovereignty or jurisdiction over those areas;
 - (b) the power of Her Majesty to make or provide for the making of laws for the said areas shall include power to make such laws (relating to persons or things either within or outside the areas) and such provisions for the making of laws (relating as aforesaid) as appear to Her Majesty requisite for giving effect to arrangements with the authorities of the Republic of Cyprus.
- (2) The boundaries of the said areas shall, subject to the provisions of this section, be those defined by the maps, photographs and descriptive matter, authenticated by the signature of the Secretary of State, which have been deposited at the Commonwealth Relations Office and presented to Parliament by the Secretary of State by Command of Her Majesty.
- (3) If Her Majesty by Order in Council declares that arrangements have been made—
 - (a) for the demarcation of the said boundaries by two or more Commissioners appointed as specified in the arrangements;
 - (b) for the determination, in default of agreement between the Commissioners, of any question as to the interpretation of the maps, photographs or descriptive matter; and
 - (c) for the variation of the boundaries, as defined by the maps, photographs and descriptive matter, by agreement between the Commissioners where it appears to them expedient to do so on any grounds specified in the arrangements,

and that the Commissioners have made a report that the boundaries have been demarcated in accordance with the arrangements, then as from such date not earlier than the date of the report as may be specified in the Order in Council the boundaries of the said areas shall be the boundaries demarcated by the Commissioners.