

House of Commons Commission Act 2015

2015 CHAPTER 24

1 Members of the Commission etc.

- (1) Section 1 of the House of Commons (Administration) Act 1978 (the House of Commons Commission) is amended as follows.
- (2) After subsection (1) insert—
 - "(1A) The Commission is to consist of seven parliamentary members, two external members and two official members."
- (3) In subsection (2) (members of the Commission)—
 - (a) for "Commission shall consist of" substitute "parliamentary members are to be", and
 - (b) in paragraph (d) (members appointed by the House of Commons) for "three" substitute "four".
- (4) After subsection (2) insert—
 - "(2A) An external member may not be—
 - (a) a member of the House of Commons,
 - (b) a member of the House of Lords,
 - (c) a member of staff in the House Departments, or
 - (d) a member of staff of the House of Lords.
 - (2B) An external member is to be appointed by resolution of the House of Commons.
 - (2C) The official members are—
 - (a) the Clerk of the House of Commons or, if that office is vacant, a member of staff in the House Departments who is appointed as an official member by the Commission, and
 - (b) the Director General of the House of Commons or, if that office is vacant or no longer exists, a member of staff in the House Departments who is appointed as an official member by the Commission."

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally enacted).

- (5) In subsection (4) after the definition of "Leader of the Opposition" insert—

 ""member of staff of the House of Lords" means a person who is employed under a contract of employment with the Corporate Officer of the House of Lords."
- (6) The Schedule (further provision about members and procedure of the Commission) has effect.