Search Legislation

Antarctic Act 2013

Antarctic Treaty

3.The Antarctic Treaty establishes a mechanism for international co-operation to protect and preserve Antarctica for peaceful purposes. The United Kingdom was the first country to ratify the Treaty, which came into force in 1961. There are currently 28 Consultative (executive) Parties and 20 non-Consultative Parties. The Antarctic Treaty Consultative Parties meet annually to exchange information and consult on matters relating to Antarctica and may adopt measures “in furtherance of the principles and purposes of the Treaty” which become effective when approved by the Governments of all Antarctic Treaty Consultative Parties. The full text of the Treaty can be found at:

Back to top


Print Options


Explanatory Notes

Text created by the government department responsible for the subject matter of the Act to explain what the Act sets out to achieve and to make the Act accessible to readers who are not legally qualified. Explanatory Notes were introduced in 1999 and accompany all Public Acts except Appropriation, Consolidated Fund, Finance and Consolidation Acts.


More Resources

Access essential accompanying documents and information for this legislation item from this tab. Dependent on the legislation item being viewed this may include:

  • the original print PDF of the as enacted version that was used for the print copy
  • lists of changes made by and/or affecting this legislation item
  • confers power and blanket amendment details
  • all formats of all associated documents
  • correction slips
  • links to related legislation and further information resources