Search Legislation

Civil Aviation Act 2012

Structure of the Act

26.The Act is divided into three Parts. It has 113 sections and 14 Schedules.

27.The Act makes changes to a number of existing Acts, most notably the ASA 1982, the CAA 1982, the AA 1986, the Transport Act 2000 (the “TA 2000”) and the Regulatory Enforcement and Sanctions Act 2008 (the “RESA 2008”). The arrangement of the Act is as follows:

  • Part 1: Airports

    • Chapter 1: Regulation of Operators of Dominant Airports

      Sections 1-2:General duties
      Sections 3-4:Prohibition
      Sections 5-13:Dominant airports
      Sections 14-17:Licences
      Sections 18-21:Licence conditions
      Sections 22-23:Modifying licences
      Sections 24-30:Appeals against licence conditions etc
      Sections 31-47:Enforcement of licence conditions
      Sections 48-49:Revocation of licence
      Sections 50-55:Obtaining information
      Sections 56-58:Penalties
      Section 59:Disclosing information
    • Chapter 2: Competition

      Sections 60-65:Competition
    • Chapter 3: General Provision

      Sections 66-72:Interpretation
      Sections 73-77:Other general provision
  • Part 2: Other Aviation Matters

    Sections 78-82:Aviation security
    Sections 83-93:Provision of information about aviation
    Section 94:Regulation of provision of flight accommodation
    Sections 95-99:CAA membership
    Sections 100-105:Further provision about CAA
    Sections 106-107:Miscellaneous
  • Part 3: Final provisions

    Sections 108-113:Final provisions
  • Schedules 1-14

    Schedule 1:Appeals against determinations
    Schedule 2:Appeals under sections 24 and 25
    Schedule 3:Appeals against orders and penalties
    Schedule 4:Appeals against revocation of licence
    Schedule 5:Appeals against penalties: information
    Schedule 6:Restrictions on disclosing information
    Schedule 7:Index of defined expressions
    Schedule 8:Status of airport operators as statutory undertakers etc
    Schedule 9:Regulation of operators of dominant airports: consequential provision
    Schedule 10:Regulation of operators of dominant airports: transitional provision
    Schedule 11:Aviation security directions etc: minor and consequential amendments
    Schedule 12:Aviation security: further provision about transfer schemes
    Schedule 13:Appeals against penalties
    Schedule 14:CAA membership: transitional and saving provision

Back to top


Print Options


Explanatory Notes

Text created by the government department responsible for the subject matter of the Act to explain what the Act sets out to achieve and to make the Act accessible to readers who are not legally qualified. Explanatory Notes were introduced in 1999 and accompany all Public Acts except Appropriation, Consolidated Fund, Finance and Consolidation Acts.


More Resources

Access essential accompanying documents and information for this legislation item from this tab. Dependent on the legislation item being viewed this may include:

  • the original print PDF of the as enacted version that was used for the print copy
  • lists of changes made by and/or affecting this legislation item
  • confers power and blanket amendment details
  • all formats of all associated documents
  • correction slips
  • links to related legislation and further information resources

Impact Assessments

Impact Assessments generally accompany all UK Government interventions of a regulatory nature that affect the private sector, civil society organisations and public services. They apply regardless of whether the regulation originates from a domestic or international source and can accompany primary (Acts etc) and secondary legislation (SIs). An Impact Assessment allows those with an interest in the policy area to understand:

  • Why the government is proposing to intervene;
  • The main options the government is considering, and which one is preferred;
  • How and to what extent new policies may impact on them; and,
  • The estimated costs and benefits of proposed measures.