Search Legislation

Flood and Water Management Act 2010

Section 22: Establishment

82.This section requires the Environment Agency to establish Regional Flood and Coastal Committees (RFCCs) for regions in England and Wales. To do so, it must divide England and Wales into regions for this purpose. The Environment Agency also has the power to alter these boundaries.

83.The Minister is given the power, to set out in regulations, the procedure that must be followed by the Environment Agency in creating or varying regional boundaries which may include provisions in respect of consultation and appeals (subsection (2)(a)).

84.These committees will replace Regional Flood Defence Committees (RFDCs) and the Minister is given a power, by order, to make transitional provision for this change (subsection (2)(b)).

Back to top


Print Options


Explanatory Notes

Text created by the government department responsible for the subject matter of the Act to explain what the Act sets out to achieve and to make the Act accessible to readers who are not legally qualified. Explanatory Notes were introduced in 1999 and accompany all Public Acts except Appropriation, Consolidated Fund, Finance and Consolidation Acts.


More Resources

Access essential accompanying documents and information for this legislation item from this tab. Dependent on the legislation item being viewed this may include:

  • the original print PDF of the as enacted version that was used for the print copy
  • lists of changes made by and/or affecting this legislation item
  • confers power and blanket amendment details
  • all formats of all associated documents
  • correction slips
  • links to related legislation and further information resources