Search Legislation

Constitutional Reform and Governance Act 2010

Overview of the Act

3.The Constitutional Reform and Governance Act 2010 comprises seven Parts and seven Schedules. The explanatory notes are divided into seven Parts, reflecting the structure of the Act. A summary of, and background to, each Part of the Act is provided below. Commentary on each Part is then set out in section order, with the commentary on each Schedule following the section which introduces it.

Back to top


Print Options


Explanatory Notes

Text created by the government department responsible for the subject matter of the Act to explain what the Act sets out to achieve and to make the Act accessible to readers who are not legally qualified. Explanatory Notes were introduced in 1999 and accompany all Public Acts except Appropriation, Consolidated Fund, Finance and Consolidation Acts.


More Resources

Access essential accompanying documents and information for this legislation item from this tab. Dependent on the legislation item being viewed this may include:

  • the original print PDF of the as enacted version that was used for the print copy
  • lists of changes made by and/or affecting this legislation item
  • confers power and blanket amendment details
  • all formats of all associated documents
  • correction slips
  • links to related legislation and further information resources