Political Parties and Elections Act 2009


34Provision supplementing section 33E+W+S+N.I.

This section has no associated Explanatory Notes

(1)Where on the commencement of section 33 a person is registered in a register maintained by a registration officer, the person's name is not to be removed from the register by virtue of section 10A(5A) of the 1983 Act (canvass form not including required information, etc) until the conclusion of the third canvass to be concluded after the commencement of that section.

(2)An order bringing section 33 into force may—

(a)repeal any provision of sections 30, 31 and 32;

(b)make amendments to any enactment that are consequential on the coming into force of section 33.

(3)The Secretary of State may (either before, at the same time as or after section 33 is brought into force) by regulations—

(a)amend section 10(4A) or (4B), section 10A(1A) or (1B) or section 13A(2A) or (2B) of the 1983 Act;

(b)make any other amendments to the 1983 Act that appear to the Secretary of State to be necessary or desirable in consequence of an amendment made by virtue of paragraph (a).

(4)Regulations under subsection (3)—

(a)may make different provision for different purposes or different areas;

(b)may make transitional or saving provision.

(5)The power to make regulations under subsection (3) is exercisable by statutory instrument.

(6)Before making regulations under subsection (3) the Secretary of State must—

(a)consult the Electoral Commission, and

(b)in the case of regulations containing provision amending section 10(4A) or (4B), section 10A(1A) or (1B) or section 13A(2A) or (2B) of the 1983 Act, seek the Commission's views as to whether the provision would help or hinder the achievement of the registration objectives.

(7)An order containing provision made by virtue of paragraph (b) of subsection (2), or regulations under subsection (3), may not be made unless a draft of the statutory instrument containing the order or regulations has been laid before, and approved by a resolution of, each House of Parliament.