Search Legislation

Local Transport Act 2008

Section 77: Change of name of passenger transport areas and PTAs

210.This section provides for the passenger transport areas in England created under the Transport Act 1968 – that is, the six metropolitan counties in England – to be known in future as “integrated transport areas”. It also provides for the Passenger Transport Authorities in England established under the Local Government Act 1985 (one for each passenger transport area) to be known as “Integrated Transport Authorities” (“ITAs”). This section also provides that any reference in existing legislation to a “passenger transport area” or “Passenger Transport Authority” in England and Wales should be read respectively as a reference to “integrated transport area” or “Integrated Transport Authority”.

211.This section also introduces Schedule 4, which makes amendments to various enactments consequential on the change of name. The amendments reflect the fact that the change of name does not apply in Scotland, where the Strathclyde Passenger Transport Authority remains as a statutory entity.

Back to top


Print Options


Explanatory Notes

Text created by the government department responsible for the subject matter of the Act to explain what the Act sets out to achieve and to make the Act accessible to readers who are not legally qualified. Explanatory Notes were introduced in 1999 and accompany all Public Acts except Appropriation, Consolidated Fund, Finance and Consolidation Acts.


More Resources

Access essential accompanying documents and information for this legislation item from this tab. Dependent on the legislation item being viewed this may include:

  • the original print PDF of the as enacted version that was used for the print copy
  • lists of changes made by and/or affecting this legislation item
  • confers power and blanket amendment details
  • all formats of all associated documents
  • correction slips
  • links to related legislation and further information resources