Search Legislation

Police and Justice Act 2006

Part 4 – Inspectorates

7.Part 4 (sections 28 to 33) makes provision about each of the five justice sector inspectorates (Her Majesty’s Chief Inspector of Prisons, Her Majesty’s Inspectors of Constabulary, Her Majesty’s Chief Inspector of the Crown Prosecution Service, Her Majesty’s Chief Inspector of the National Probation Service for England and Wales and Her Majesty’s Inspectorate of Court Administration) in respect of the delegation of functions, inspection programmes and frameworks, inspections by other inspectors of organisations within each inspectorate’s remit, cooperation, joint action and assistance for other public authorities.

Back to top


Print Options


Explanatory Notes

Text created by the government department responsible for the subject matter of the Act to explain what the Act sets out to achieve and to make the Act accessible to readers who are not legally qualified. Explanatory Notes were introduced in 1999 and accompany all Public Acts except Appropriation, Consolidated Fund, Finance and Consolidation Acts.


More Resources

Access essential accompanying documents and information for this legislation item from this tab. Dependent on the legislation item being viewed this may include:

  • the original print PDF of the as enacted version that was used for the print copy
  • lists of changes made by and/or affecting this legislation item
  • confers power and blanket amendment details
  • all formats of all associated documents
  • correction slips
  • links to related legislation and further information resources