Search Legislation

Courts Act 2003

The commission of the peace and local justice areas

Section 7: The commission of the peace for England and Wales

40.This section replaces the provision contained in sections 1 and 3 of the JPA 1997, for the issue of commissions of the peace to each commission area, but with changes to reflect the fact that commission areas are abolished by this Act,. The section refers to a single commission of the peace, which will cover England and Wales, in place of the current 42 separate commissions.

41.The section restates the provision that the commission is to be issued under the Great Seal, and that it shall be addressed generally rather than to individual justices.

Back to top


Print Options


Explanatory Notes

Text created by the government department responsible for the subject matter of the Act to explain what the Act sets out to achieve and to make the Act accessible to readers who are not legally qualified. Explanatory Notes were introduced in 1999 and accompany all Public Acts except Appropriation, Consolidated Fund, Finance and Consolidation Acts.


More Resources

Access essential accompanying documents and information for this legislation item from this tab. Dependent on the legislation item being viewed this may include:

  • the original print PDF of the as enacted version that was used for the print copy
  • lists of changes made by and/or affecting this legislation item
  • confers power and blanket amendment details
  • all formats of all associated documents
  • correction slips
  • links to related legislation and further information resources