Search Legislation

Education Act 2002

Sections 105 to 107: The key stages in Wales and the power to alter or remove requirements for the fourth key stage

245.Sections 105 and 106 re-enact sections 353 and 354 of the EA 96, listing the subjects which are compulsory at each key stage, but in relation to key stages 1, 2 and 3 only and stating that the National Curriculum shall specify attainment targets, programmes of study and assessment arrangements in relation to each subject for each key stage. Section 107 adds a broad power to alter or remove requirements for the fourth key stage.

246.The requirements of the National Curriculum are now described separately in relation to the foundation stage, key stages 1 to 3 and key stage 4. This will allow for different provisions to apply at each stage. Separating out key stage 4 from the others allows for new requirements for this age group to be introduced in the future.

Back to top


Print Options


Explanatory Notes

Text created by the government department responsible for the subject matter of the Act to explain what the Act sets out to achieve and to make the Act accessible to readers who are not legally qualified. Explanatory Notes were introduced in 1999 and accompany all Public Acts except Appropriation, Consolidated Fund, Finance and Consolidation Acts.


More Resources

Access essential accompanying documents and information for this legislation item from this tab. Dependent on the legislation item being viewed this may include:

  • the original print PDF of the as enacted version that was used for the print copy
  • lists of changes made by and/or affecting this legislation item
  • confers power and blanket amendment details
  • all formats of all associated documents
  • correction slips
  • links to related legislation and further information resources