

European Parliamentary Elections Act 2002

2002 CHAPTER 24

Introductory

1 Electoral regions and number of MEPs

- (1) For the purpose of the election in the United Kingdom of members of the European Parliament ("MEPs")—
 - (a) England is to be divided into nine electoral regions, and
 - (b) Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland are each to constitute a single electoral region.
- (2) There are to be 87 MEPs elected in the United Kingdom, of whom—
 - (a) 71 are to be elected for the electoral regions in England,
 - (b) 8 are to be elected for Scotland,
 - (c) 5 are to be elected for Wales, and
 - (d) 3 are to be elected for Northern Ireland.
- (3) Schedule 1 (which makes provision for the electoral regions in England and for the number of MEPs to be elected for each region) has effect.