Search Legislation

Capital Allowances Act 2001

Section 54: The different kinds of pools

273.This section sets out explicitly the different types of pool. In CAA 1990 the class pools and single asset pools are notional trades. The main pool is the default for the actual trade – or the activity treated as a trade.

274.Subsection (2) provides that a single asset pool cannot contain expenditure in respect of more than one asset. CAA 1990 achieves this by creating a notional trade for expenditure on the provision of an asset separate from any other trade carried on.

275.Subsection (3) points to provisions which determine if qualifying expenditure has to be allocated to a single asset pool (if it is allocated to a pool).

276.Subsection (4) and (5) provide similarly for class pools.

277.Subsection (6) provides what is the default rule in CAA 1990. This is that expenditure can only be allocated to the main pool if it does not have to be allocated to a class or single asset pool.

Figure 2: example of requirement that expenditure relating to the different activities must not be allocated to the same pool.

Back to top


Print Options


Explanatory Notes

Text created by the government department responsible for the subject matter of the Act to explain what the Act sets out to achieve and to make the Act accessible to readers who are not legally qualified. Explanatory Notes were introduced in 1999 and accompany all Public Acts except Appropriation, Consolidated Fund, Finance and Consolidation Acts.


More Resources

Access essential accompanying documents and information for this legislation item from this tab. Dependent on the legislation item being viewed this may include:

  • the original print PDF of the as enacted version that was used for the print copy
  • lists of changes made by and/or affecting this legislation item
  • confers power and blanket amendment details
  • all formats of all associated documents
  • correction slips
  • links to related legislation and further information resources