

## **Disqualifications Act 2000**

## **2000 CHAPTER 42**

## **3** Disqualification for certain Assembly offices.

(1) In section 29 of the <sup>MI</sup>Northern Ireland Act 1998 (statutory committees), after subsection (5) insert—

"(5A) A member of the Assembly who is—

- (a) a Minister of the Government of Ireland, or
- (b) chairman or deputy chairman of—
  - (i) a committee of the Dáil Éireann (House of Representatives of Ireland),
  - (ii) a committee of the Seanad Éireann (Senate of Ireland), or
  - (iii) a joint committee of the Oireachtas (National Parliament of Ireland),

may not be the chairman or deputy chairman of a statutory committee."

(2) In section 40 of the Northern Ireland Act 1998 (which makes provision as to the Northern Ireland Assembly Commission), after subsection (3) insert—

"(3A) A member of the Assembly who is—

- (a) a Minister of the Government of Ireland, or
- (b) chairman or deputy chairman of-
  - (i) a committee of the Dáil Éireann (House of Representatives of Ireland),
  - (ii) a committee of the Seanad Éireann (Senate of Ireland), or
  - (iii) a joint committee of the Oireachtas (National Parliament of Ireland),

may not be appointed as a member of the Commission."

Marginal Citations M1 1998 c. 47.

## Changes to legislation:

There are currently no known outstanding effects for the Disqualifications Act 2000, Section 3.