Status: This is the original version (as it was originally enacted).

## SCHEDULES

## **SCHEDULE 28**

## THE LONDON FIRE AND EMERGENCY PLANNING AUTHORITY

## Membership

- 1 (1) The Fire etc Authority shall consist of seventeen members, of whom—
  - (a) nine ("the Assembly representatives") shall be Assembly members appointed by the Mayor; and
  - (b) the remainder ("the borough representatives") shall be members of London borough councils appointed by the Mayor on the nomination of the London borough councils acting jointly.
  - (2) The Mayor shall exercise his power to appoint members under sub-paragraph (1)(a) above so as to ensure that, so far as practicable, the members for whose appointment he is responsible reflect the balance of parties for the time being prevailing among the members of the Assembly.
  - (3) The London borough councils shall exercise their power to nominate members under sub-paragraph (1)(b) above so as to ensure that, so far as practicable, the members for whose nomination they are responsible reflect the balance of parties for the time being prevailing among the members of those councils taken as a whole.
  - (4) It shall be the duty of the London borough councils to nominate the first members under sub-paragraph (1)(b) above in sufficient time before the reconstitution day so that the appointment of those members takes effect on that day.
  - (5) The Secretary of State may by order vary any of the numbers for the time being specified in sub-paragraph (1) above, but the number of the Assembly representatives must exceed by one the number of the borough representatives.
  - (6) Before making an order under sub-paragraph (5) above, the Secretary of State shall consult—
    - (a) the Mayor;
    - (b) the Assembly;
    - (c) the Fire etc Authority; and
    - (d) every London borough council.