

Environmental Protection Act 1990

1990 CHAPTER 43

PART VII

NATURE CONSERVATION IN GREAT BRITAIN AND COUNTRYSIDE MATTERS IN WALES

New Councils for England, Scotland and Wales

128 Creation and constitution of new Councils

- (1) There shall be three councils, to be called the Nature Conservancy Council for England, the Nature Conservancy Council for Scotland, and the Countryside Council for Wales (in this Part referred to as "the Councils").
- (2) The Councils shall have the following membership, that is to say—
 - (a) the Nature Conservancy Council for England shall have not less than 10 nor more than 14 members;
 - (b) the Nature Conservancy Council for Scotland shall have not less than 8 nor more than 12 members; and
 - (c) the Countryside Council for Wales shall have not less than 8 nor more than 12 members;

and those members shall be appointed by the Secretary of State.

- (3) The Secretary of State may by order amend paragraph (a), (b) or (c) of subsection (2) above so as to substitute for the number for the time being specified as the maximum membership of a Council such other number as he thinks appropriate.
- (4) The Councils shall establish a committee to be called the Joint Nature Conservation Committee (in this Part referred to as "the joint committee").
- (5) Schedules 6 and 7 to this Act shall have effect with respect to the constitution and proceedings of the Councils and of the joint committee and related matters.