

## Enterprise and New Towns (Scotland) Act 1990

**1990 CHAPTER 35** 

## PART I

SCOTTISH ENTERPRISE AND HIGHLANDS AND ISLANDS ENTERPRISE

## Areas of operation

## 21 Areas of operation

- (1) Subject to the provisions of this Part of this Act, the area within or in relation to which the functions of Highlands and Islands Enterprise shall be exercisable (in this Act referred to as "the Highlands and Islands") shall comprise—
  - (a) Highland Region, Western Isles Islands Area, Orkney Islands Area, Shetland Islands Area, Argyll and Bute District, Arran, Great Cumbrae and Little Cumbrae;
  - (b) in the Moray District, the parishes of Aberlour, Cabrach, Dallas, Dyke, Edinkillie, Forres, Inveravon, Kinloss, Kirkmichael, Knockando, Mortlach, Rafford and Rothes; and
  - (c) such other parts of Scotland as, having regard to their character and their proximity to the area mentioned in paragraphs (a) and (b) above, the Secretary of State may by order made by statutory instrument from time to time designate.
- (2) An order shall not be made under subsection (1) above unless a draft of it has been laid before, and approved by a resolution of, each House of Parliament.
- (3) The functions of Scottish Enterprise shall be exercisable throughout Scotland; but within or in relation to the area mentioned in subsection (1) above only if and in so far as their exercise—
  - (a) is requested by Highlands and Islands Enterprise; or

(4) Highlands and Islands Enterprise shall have an office in the Highlands and Islands at which communications and notices will be received.