

Justices of the Peace Act 1979 (repealed 19.6.1997)

1979 CHAPTER 55

PART I

GENERAL

Areas and commissions of the peace

4 Petty sessions areas.

- (1) The following areas outside Greater London are petty sessions areas, that is to say—
 - (a) every non-metropolitan county which is not divided into petty sessional divisions:
 - (b) every petty sessional division of a non-metropolitan county;
 - (c) every metropolitan district which is not divided into petty sessional divisions; and
 - (d) every petty sessional division of a metropolitan district.
- (2) In the following provisions of this Act "petty sessions area" means any of the following, that is to say—
 - (a) any of the areas outside Greater London specified in subsection (1) above;
 - [F1(b) the inner London area if it is not divided into petty sessional divisions;
 - (c) any petty sessional division of the inner London area;
 - (d) any outer London borough which is not divided into petty sessional divisions;
 - (e) any petty sessional division of an outer London borough; and
 - (f) the City of London.]

Textual Amendments

F1 S. 4(2)(b)–(f) substituted for paras. (b)-(d) by Local Government Act 1985 (c.51, SIF 81:1), s. 12(2)

Status: Point in time view as at 01/02/1991. This version of this provision has been superseded.

Changes to legislation: There are currently no known outstanding effects for the Justices of the Peace Act 1979 (repealed 19.6.1997), Section 4. (See end of Document for details)

Modifications etc. (not altering text)

C1 Power to amend s. 4 conferred (5.7.1994) by 1994 c. 19, s. 55(3)(b).

Status:

Point in time view as at 01/02/1991. This version of this provision has been superseded.

Changes to legislation:

There are currently no known outstanding effects for the Justices of the Peace Act 1979 (repealed 19.6.1997), Section 4.