

Justices of the Peace Act 1979 (repealed 19.6.1997)

1979 CHAPTER 55

PART I

GENERAL

Areas and commissions of the peace

1 Commission areas.

There shall in England and Wales be a commission of the peace for the following areas (in this Act referred to as "commission areas") and no others, that is to say—

- (a) every county;
- (b) every London commission area; and
- (c) the City of London.

Modifications etc. (not altering text)

C1 Power to amend s. 1 conferred (5.7.1994) by 1994 c. 19, s. 55(3)(a)

2 London commission areas.

- (1) Subject to the provisions of section 3 of this Act, the following areas of Greater London, that is to say—
 - (a) an area to be known as the "inner London area", consisting of the inner London boroughs;
 - (b) an area to be known as the "north-east London area", consisting of the London boroughs of Barking, Havering, Newham, Redbridge and Waltham Forest;
 - (c) an area to be known as the "south-east London area", consisting of the London boroughs of Bexley, Bromley and Croydon;

Status: Point in time view as at 01/02/1991.

Changes to legislation: There are currently no known outstanding effects for the Justices of the Peace Act 1979 (repealed 19.6.1997), Cross Heading: Areas and commissions of the peace. (See end of Document for details)

- (d) an area to be known as the "south-west London area", consisting of the London boroughs of Kingston upon Thames, Merton, Richmond upon Thames and Sutton; and
- (e) an area to be known as the "Middlesex area", consisting of the London boroughs of Barnet, Brent, Ealing, Enfield, Haringey, Harrow, Hillingdon and Hounslow.

are in this Act referred to as "London commission areas", and the areas specified in paragraphs (b) and (e) above are in this Act referred to as the "outer London areas".

(2	'	`																																	F
١	Ζ.	,	•	٠	٠	•	•	٠	•	•	•	•	•	٠	•	•	•	•	•	•	•	•	•	•	•	•	•	•	•	•	•	•	•	•	

Textual Amendments

F1 S. 2(2)(3) repealed by Local Government Act 1985 (c.51, SIF 81:1), s. 102, Sch. 17

3 Power to adjust London commission areas.

- (1) Her Majesty may by Order in Council substitute for any one or more of the areas specified in section 2(1) above any other area or areas comprising the whole or part of Greater London, or alter the boundaries of any area so specified; but the City of London shall not by virtue of any such Order be included in a London commission area.
- (2) An Order in Council made under this section may contain such incidental, consequential, transitional or supplementary provisions as may be necessary or expedient for the purposes of the Order (including provisions amending this Act or any other enactment).
- (3) Any statutory instrument made by virtue of this section shall be subject to annulment in pursuance of a resolution of either House of Parliament.

4 Petty sessions areas.

- (1) The following areas outside Greater London are petty sessions areas, that is to say—
 - (a) every non-metropolitan county which is not divided into petty sessional divisions;
 - (b) every petty sessional division of a non-metropolitan county;
 - (c) every metropolitan district which is not divided into petty sessional divisions; and
 - (d) every petty sessional division of a metropolitan district.
- (2) In the following provisions of this Act "petty sessions area" means any of the following, that is to say—
 - (a) any of the areas outside Greater London specified in subsection (1) above;
 - [F2(b)] the inner London area if it is not divided into petty sessional divisions;
 - (c) any petty sessional division of the inner London area;
 - (d) any outer London borough which is not divided into petty sessional divisions;
 - (e) any petty sessional division of an outer London borough; and
 - (f) the City of London.]

Document Generated: 2024-01-09

Status: Point in time view as at 01/02/1991.

Changes to legislation: There are currently no known outstanding effects for the Justices of the Peace Act 1979 (repealed 19.6.1997), Cross Heading: Areas and commissions of the peace. (See end of Document for details)

Textual Amendments

F2 S. 4(2)(b)—(f) substituted for paras. (b)-(d) by Local Government Act 1985 (c.51, SIF 81:1), s. 12(2)

Modifications etc. (not altering text)

C2 Power to amend s. 4 conferred (5.7.1994) by 1994 c. 19, s. 55(3)(b).

5 General form of commissions of the peace.

- (1) The commission of the peace for any commission area shall be a commission under the Great Seal addressed generally, and not by name, to all such persons as may from time to time hold office as justices of the peace for the commission area.
- (2) A commission of the peace issued after the commencement of this Act shall be framed so as to take account of the abolition of courts of quarter sessions by section 3 of the MICourts Act 1971.

Modifications etc. (not altering text)

C3 S. 5 excluded by Social Security Act 1986 (c.50, SIF 113:1), s. 25(3)

Marginal Citations

M1 1971 c. 23.

Status:

Point in time view as at 01/02/1991.

Changes to legislation:

There are currently no known outstanding effects for the Justices of the Peace Act 1979 (repealed 19.6.1997), Cross Heading: Areas and commissions of the peace.