Schedule 1Exceptions from Prohibition in Section 1

1The central bank of each member State other than the United Kingdom.

2The National Savings Bank.

3The Post Office.

4A trustee savings bank or penny savings bank.

5A municipal bank.

6A building society within the meaning of the Building Societies Art 1962 or the Building Societies Act (Northern Ireland) 1967.

7A society which is registered within the meaning of the Friendly Societies Art 1974 or is registered or deemed to be registered under the Friendly Societies Act (Northern Ireland) 1970.

8Any institution or unincorporated institution which is for the time being authorised, by virtue of section 3 of the Insurance Companies Act 1974 or Article 7 of the Insurance Companies (Northern Ireland) Order 1976, to carry on insurance business of a class relevant for the purposes of Part I of that Act or, as the case may be, Part II of that Order.

9A member of The Stock Exchange in the course of business as a stockbroker or stockjobber.

10A loan society whose rules are certified, deposited and enrolled in accordance with the Loan Societies Act 1840.

11A credit union within the meaning of the Industrial and Provident Societies Act (Northern Ireland) 1969 or the Credit Unions Art 1979.

12A body of persons certified as a school bank by a trustee savings bank, the National Savings Bank or a recognised bank.

13A local authority.

14Any other body which by virtue of any enactment has power to issue a precept to a local authority in England or Wales, or a requisition to a local authority in Scotland.