Status: This is the original version (as it was originally enacted). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

## SCHEDULES

## SCHEDULE 11

## LICENSING PLANNING COMMITTEES

## London

- Paragraphs 1, 2 and 7 to 10 of this Schedule shall not apply to a licensing planning area that consists of or includes the administrative county of London.
- The licensing planning committee for such a licensing planning area shall consist of—
  - (a) a chairman appointed by the Secretary of State as being an independent person;
  - (b) twelve members appointed from among their number by the court of quarter sessions for the county of London;
  - (c) twelve members, appointed one each by the councils of the inner London boroughs;
  - (d) such number of members as the Secretary of State may by order prescribe, appointed from among their number by the licensing justices for the City of London and an equal number of members appointed by the Common Council of the City of London;
  - (e) such persons appointed to a sub-committee under paragraph 15(c) of this Schedule and nominated by authorities or bodies concerned with a part of the area outside the administrative county of London as the Secretary of State -may by order prescribe.
- 13 (1) If, after consultation with the court of quarter sessions for the county of London and the councils of the inner London boroughs, it appears to the Secretary of State expedient to do so by reason of the reduction under any enactment (whether passed before or after the commencement of this Act) of the number of petty-sessional divisions in London, the Secretary of State may by order direct that sub-paragraphs (b) and (c) of paragraph 12 of this Schedule shall have effect as if for the number twelve, in each place where it occurs, there were substituted such lower number as the order may specify.
  - (2) Where an order under this paragraph lowers the number of members under subparagraph (c) of paragraph 12 of this Schedule, the order may specify the manner in which that lower number of members is to be appointed by the councils of the inner London boroughs.
- The clerk of the peace for the county of London shall, by virtue of his office, be the secretary of the licensing planning committee for any licensing planning area that consists of or includes the administrative county of London.
- The Secretary of State may by order—
  - (a) provide for the appointment of sub-committees of the licensing planning committee referred to in paragraph 12 of this Schedule;

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally enacted). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

- (b) authorise or require the reference by the committee to those sub-committees of such matters as the order may specify;
- (c) provide for the addition to those sub-committees, for the purpose of considering and reporting on such matters as may be specified in the order, of persons nominated by such authorities or bodies concerned with the area or any part of it as may be so specified; and
- (d) limit the right to vote as members of the committee referred to in paragraph 12 of this Schedule of the persons mentioned in sub-paragraph (e) of that paragraph to such matters relating to the part of the area so mentioned as the order may specify.
- An order under paragraph 13 or paragraph 15 of this Schedule may be varied or revoked by a subsequent order thereunder.