Draft Order laid before Parliament under section 59(9) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009; draft to lie for forty days pursuant to section 6(1) of the Statutory Instruments Act 1946, during which period either House of Parliament may resolve that the Order be not made.

DRAFT STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2022 No. [****]

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The Derbyshire Dales (Electoral Changes) Order 2022

Made - - - - ***
Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2) and (3)

Under section 58(4) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009(1) ("the Act") the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(2) ("the Commission") published a report dated January 2022(3) stating its recommendations for changes to the electoral arrangements for the district of Derbyshire Dales. The Commission has decided to give effect to the recommendations.

A draft of the instrument has been laid before Parliament and a period of forty days has expired since the day on which it was laid and neither House has resolved that the instrument be not made.

The Commission makes the following Order in exercise of the power conferred by section 59(1) of the Act.

Citation, commencement, extent and application

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Derbyshire Dales (Electoral Changes) Order 2022.
- (2) This article and article 2 come into force on 15th October 2022.
- (3) Articles 3 and 4 come into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on 15th October 2022;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in England(4) in 2023.

^{(1) 2009} c. 20.

⁽²⁾ The Local Government Boundary Commission for England was established on 1st April 2010 by section 55(1) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009.

⁽³⁾ The report is available for inspection at reasonable times at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 1st Floor, Windsor House, 50 Victoria Street, London SW1H 0TL. It is also accessible online at https://www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/east-midlands/derbyshire/derbyshire-dales.

⁽⁴⁾ The ordinary day of election of councillors in England is prescribed by section 37(1) of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c. 2), as amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c. 50), renumbered by paragraph

(4) This Order extends to England and Wales but applies in relation to England only.

Interpretation

- **2.**—(1) In this Order, "the map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the Derbyshire Dales (Electoral Changes) Order 2022", held by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(5).
- (2) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Wards of the district of Derbyshire Dales and number of councillors

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the district of Derbyshire Dales are abolished.
- (2) The district of Derbyshire Dales is divided into the 21 wards listed in the first column of the table in Schedule 1.
 - (3) Each ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the table in Schedule 1.

Wards of the parishes of Darley Dale and Matlock and number of councillors

- **4.**—(1) The existing wards of the parishes of Darley Dale and Matlock are abolished.
- (2) The parish of Darley Dale is divided into the three parish wards listed in the first column of Table 1 in Schedule 2.
- (3) The parish of Matlock is divided into the eight parish wards listed in the first column of Table 2 in Schedule 2.
- (4) Each parish ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.
- (5) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that parish ward in the second column of the relevant table in Schedule 2.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England

Name
Chief Executive
Local Government Boundary Commission for
England

Date

⁵ of Schedule 3 to the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c. 29), and further amended by section 6(16) of the Wales Act 2017 (c. 4).

⁽⁵⁾ Prints of the map are available for inspection at reasonable times at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 1st Floor, Windsor House, 50 Victoria Street, London SW1H 0TL. It is also accessible online at https://www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/east-midlands/derbyshire/derbyshire-dales.

SCHEDULE 1 Article 3
Wards of the district of Derbyshire Dales and numbers of councillors

(1)	(2)	
Name of ward	Number of councillors	
Ashbourne North	2	
Ashbourne South	3	
Bakewell	2	
Bonsall & Winster	1	
Bradwell	1	
Brailsford	1	
Calver & Longstone	1	
Chatsworth	1	
Cromford & Matlock Bath	1	
Darley Dale	3	
Dovedale, Parwich & Brassington	1	
Doveridge & Sudbury	1	
Hartington & Taddington	1	
Hathersage	2	
Hulland	1	
Matlock East & Tansley	3	
Matlock West	3	
Norbury	1	
Tideswell	1	
Wirksworth	3	
Youlgrave	1	

SCHEDULE 2 Article 4

Names of parish wards and numbers of councillors

Table 1
Parish wards of the parish of Darley Dale Town

(1)	(2)	
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors	
Morledge	1	
North	7	
South	4	

Table 2
Parish wards of the parish of Matlock Town

(1)	(2)	
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors	
Chesterfield Road East	2	
Cuckoostone	1	
Hurst Farm	1	
Matlock Green	1	
Matlock Bank & Sheriff Fields	2	
North of Jackson Road	1	
Riber & Starkholmes	1	
Smedley Street	2	

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to electoral arrangements for the district of Derbyshire Dales following recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England. The area of the district remains unchanged.

Article 3 abolishes the existing electoral wards of the district of Derbyshire Dales and replaces them with 21 new ones for the purpose of elections held on or after the ordinary day of election of

Document Generated: 2023-05-28

Draft Legislation: This is a draft item of legislation. This draft has since been made as a UK Statutory Instrument: The Derbyshire Dales (Electoral Changes) Order 2022 No. 776

councillors in England in 2023. It establishes the names and areas of the new electoral wards and the number of councillors for each.

Article 4 makes changes to parish wards that are consequential on the changes made by article 3.

The area covered by each ward created by this Order is identified on a map which is available for inspection at reasonable times at the offices of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 1st Floor, Windsor House, 50 Victoria Street, London SW1H 0TL.

The map may also be accessed at https://www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/east-midlands/derbyshire/derbyshire-dales.

A full impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no, or no significant, impact on the private, voluntary or public sectors is foreseen.