Draft Order laid before Parliament under section 59(9) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009; draft to lie for forty days pursuant to section 6(1) of the Statutory Instruments Act 1946, during which period either House of Parliament may resolve that the Order be not made.

### DRAFT STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

# 2020 No. 0000

# LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The London Borough of Hammersmith & Fulham (Electoral Changes) Order 2020

Made - - - - Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2) and (3)

Under section 58(4) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009(1) ("the Act") the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(2) ("the Commission") published a report dated June 2020 stating its recommendations for changes to the electoral arrangements for the London Borough of Hammersmith & Fulham. The Commission has decided to give effect to the recommendations.

A draft of the instrument has been laid before Parliament and a period of forty days has expired since the day on which it was laid and neither House has resolved that the instrument be not made.

The Commission makes the following Order in exercise of the power conferred by section 59(1) of the Act.

#### Citation and commencement

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the London Borough of Hammersmith & Fulham (Electoral Changes) Order 2020.
  - (2) This article and article 2 come into force on the day after the day on which this Order is made.
  - (3) Article 3 comes into force—
    - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on the day after the day on which this Order is made;

<sup>(1) 2009</sup> c. 20.

<sup>(2)</sup> The Local Government Boundary Commission for England was established on 1st April 2010 by section 55(1) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009.

(b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in England(3) in 2022.

# Interpretation

- **2.**—(1) In this Order, "the map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the London Borough of Hammersmith & Fulham (Electoral Changes) Order 2020", held by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(4).
- (2) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

# Wards of the London Borough of Hammersmith & Fulham and number of councillors

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the London Borough of Hammersmith & Fulham are abolished.
- (2) The London Borough of Hammersmith & Fulham is divided into the 21 wards listed in the first column of the table in the Schedule.
  - (3) Each ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the table in the Schedule.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England

Name
Chief Executive
Local Government Boundary Commission for
England

Date

<sup>(3)</sup> The ordinary day of election of councillors in England is prescribed by section 37(1) of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c. 2), as amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c. 50) and section 6(16) of the Wales Act 2017 (c. 4).

<sup>(4)</sup> Prints of the map are available for inspection at reasonable times at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 1st Floor, Windsor House, 50 Victoria Street, London, SW1H 0TL. It is also accessible online at https://www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/greater-london/greater-london/hammersmith-and-fulham.

SCHEDULE Article 3
Wards of the London Borough of Hammersmith & Fulham

(1)	(2)
Name of ward	Number of councillors
Addison	2
Avonmore	2
Brook Green	2
College Park & Old Oak	3
Coningham	3
Fulham Reach	3
Fulham Town	2
Grove	2
Hammersmith Broadway	2
Lillie	2
Munster	3
Palace & Hurlingham	3
Parsons Green & Sandford	2
Ravenscourt	2
Sands End	3
Shepherd's Bush Green	2
Walham Green	2
Wendell Park	2
West Kensington	3
White City	3
Wormholt	2

# **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to electoral arrangements for the London Borough of Hammersmith & Fulham following recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England. The area of the Borough remains unchanged.

Article 3 abolishes the existing electoral wards of the London Borough of Hammersmith & Fulham and replaces them with 21 new ones for the purpose of elections held on or after the ordinary day of election of councillors in England in 2022. It also establishes the names and areas of the new electoral wards and the number of councillors for each.

The area covered by each ward created by this Order is identified on a map which is available for inspection at reasonable times at the offices of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 1st Floor, Windsor House, 50 Victoria Street, London, SW1H 0TL.

The map may also be accessed at https://www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/greater-london/greater-london/hammersmith-and-fulham.

A full impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no, or no significant, impact on the private, voluntary or public sectors is foreseen.