Draft Order laid before Parliament under section 59(9) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009; draft to lie for forty days pursuant to section 6(1) of the Statutory Instruments Act 1946, during which period either House of Parliament may resolve that the Order be not made.

DRAFT STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2019 No. 0000

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The London Borough of Ealing (Electoral Changes) Order 2019

Made - - - - Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2) and (3)

Under section 58(4) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009(1) ("the Act") the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(2) ("the Commission") published a report dated July 2019 stating its recommendations for changes to the electoral arrangements for the London Borough of Ealing. The Commission has decided to give effect to the recommendations.

A draft of the instrument has been laid before Parliament and a period of forty days has expired since the day on which it was laid and neither House has resolved that the instrument be not made.

The Commission makes the following Order in exercise of the power conferred by section 59(1) of the Act.

Citation and commencement

- **1.**—(1) This Order may be cited as the London Borough of Ealing (Electoral Changes) Order 2019.
 - (2) This article and article 2 come into force on 15th October 2021.
 - (3) Article 3 comes into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on 15th October 2021;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in England(3) in 2022.

^{(1) 2009} c. 20.

⁽²⁾ The Local Government Boundary Commission for England was established on 1st April 2010 by section 55(1) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009.

⁽³⁾ The ordinary day of election of councillors in England is prescribed by section 37(1) of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c. 2), as amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c. 50) and section 6(16) of the Wales Act 2017 (c. 4).

Interpretation

- **2.**—(1) In this Order, "the map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the London Borough of Ealing (Electoral Changes) Order 2019", held by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(4).
- (2) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature

Wards of the London Borough of Ealing and number of councillors

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the London Borough of Ealing are abolished.
- (2) The London Borough of Ealing is divided into the 24 wards listed in the first column of the table in the Schedule.
 - (3) Each ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the table in the Schedule.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England

Name
Chief Executive
Local Government Boundary Commission for
England

Date

⁽⁴⁾ Prints of the map are available for inspection at reasonable times at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 1st Floor, Windsor House, 50 Victoria Street, London, SW1H 0TL. It is also accessible online athttp://www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/greater-london/greater-london/ealing

SCHEDULE Article 3 Wards of the London Borough of Ealing

(1)	(2)
Name of ward	Number of councillors
Central Greenford	3
Dormers Wells	3
Ealing Broadway	3
Ealing Common	3
East Acton	3
Greenford Broadway	3
Hanger Hill	3
Hanwell Broadway	3
Lady Margaret	3
North Acton	3
North Greenford	3
North Hanwell	3
Northfield	3
Northolt Mandeville	3
Northolt West End	3
Norwood Green	3
Perivale	3
Pitshanger	3
South Acton	3
Southall Broadway	2
Southall Green	3
Southall West	2
Southfield	3
Walpole	3

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to electoral arrangements for the London Borough of Ealing following recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England. The area of the borough remains unchanged.

Article 3 abolishes the existing electoral wards of the London Borough of Ealing and replaces them with 24 new ones for the purpose of elections held on or after the ordinary day of election of councillors in England in 2022. It establishes the names and areas of the new electoral wards and the number of councillors for each.

The area covered by each ward created by this Order is identified on a map which is available for inspection at reasonable times at the offices of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 1st Floor, Windsor House, 50 Victoria Street, London, SW1H 0TL.

The map may also be accessed athttp://www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/greater-london/greater-london/ealing

A full impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no, or no significant, impact on the private, voluntary or public sectors is foreseen.