#### DRAFT STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

## 2018 No.

# The Babergh (Electoral Changes) Order 2018

#### Citation and commencement

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Babergh (Electoral Changes) Order 2018.
- (2) This article and article 2 come into force on the day after the day on which this Order is made.
- (3) Articles 3 and 4 come into force—
  - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on the day after the day on which this Order is made;
  - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors(1) in 2019.

## Interpretation

- **2.**—(1) In this Order, "the map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the Babergh (Electoral Changes) Order 2018", held by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(2).
- (2) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

#### Wards of the district of Babergh and number of councillors

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the district of Babergh are abolished.
- (2) The district of Babergh is divided into 24 wards as listed in the first column of the table in Schedule 1.
  - (3) Each ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the table in Schedule 1.

### Wards of the parishes of Hadleigh and Sudbury

- **4.**—(1) The existing wards of the parishes of Hadleigh and Sudbury are abolished.
- (2) The parish of Hadleigh is divided into the two parish wards listed in the first column of table 1 in Schedule 2.
- (3) The parish of Sudbury is divided into the seven parish wards listed in the first column of table 2 in Schedule 2.
- (4) Each parish ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.

<sup>(1)</sup> The ordinary day of election of councillors in England is prescribed by section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c. 2), as amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c. 50) and section 6(16) of the Wales Act 2017 (c. 4).

<sup>(2)</sup> Prints of the map are available for inspection at reasonable times at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 1st Floor, Windsor House, 50 Victoria Street, London, SW1H 0TL. It is also accessible online at http://www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/eastern/suffolk/babergh

(5) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the relevant table in Schedule 2.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England

Name
Chief Executive
Local Government Boundary Commission for
England

Date