Draft Order laid before Parliament under section 59(9) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009; draft to lie for forty days pursuant to section 6(1) of the Statutory Instruments Act 1946, during which period either House of Parliament may resolve that the Order be not made.

DRAFT STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2016 No.

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The Eastbourne (Electoral Changes) Order 2016

Made - - - - Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2) and (3)

Under section 58(4) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009(1) ("the Act"), the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(2) ("the Commission") published a report dated September 2016 stating its recommendations for changes to the electoral arrangements for the district of Eastbourne. The Commission has decided to give effect to the recommendations.

A draft of the instrument has been laid before each House of Parliament, a period of forty days has expired since the day on which it was laid and neither House has resolved that the instrument be not made.

The Commission makes the following Order in exercise of the power conferred by section 59(1) and (2) of the Act.

Citation and commencement

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Eastbourne (Electoral Changes) Order 2016.
- (2) This article and article 2 come into force on the day after the day on which this Order is made.
- (3) Article 3 and the Schedule come into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary, or relating, to the election of councillors, on 15th October 2018;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in England and Wales(3) in 2019.

^{(1) 2009} c.20.

⁽²⁾ The Local Government Boundary Commission for England was established on 1st April 2010 by section 55(1) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009 (c.20).

⁽³⁾ The ordinary day of election of councillors is prescribed by section 37(1) of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c.2).

Interpretation

- **2.**—(1) In this Order "the map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the Eastbourne (Electoral Changes) Order 2016", held by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(4).
- (2) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature

Wards of the district of Eastbourne and number of councillors

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the district of Eastbourne are abolished.
- (2) The district of Eastbourne is divided into nine wards as listed in the first column of the table in the Schedule.
 - (3) Each ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the table in the Schedule.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England

Name
Chief Executive
Local Government Boundary Commission for
England

Date

⁽⁴⁾ Prints of the map are available for inspection at reasonable times at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 14th floor, Millbank Tower, London SW1P 4QP. It is also accessible online at https://www.lgbce.org.uk/_data/assets/pdf_file/0005/27923/Eastbourne_SO.pdf.

SCHEDULE Article 3

Names of district electoral wards and number of councillors

(1)	(2)	
District ward	Number of councillors	
Devonshire	3	
Hampden Park	3	
Langney	3	
Meads	3	
Old Town	3	
Ratton	3	
Sovereign	3	
St Anthony's	3	
Upperton	3	

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to electoral arrangements for the district of Eastbourne following recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England. The area of the district remains unchanged. The electoral changes in article 3 apply in respect of local government elections to be held on and after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2019.

Article 3 abolishes the existing electoral wards of the district of Eastbourne and replaces them with nine new ones. That article together with the map (as defined in article 2) also establish the names of the new electoral wards and the areas and number of councillors for each.

The map shows the area of the new district electoral wards and is available at https://www.lgbce.org.uk/current-reviews/south-east/east-sussex/eastbourne It is also available for inspection at reasonable times at the offices of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 14th floor, Millbank Tower, London SW1P 4QP.

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no impact on the private or voluntary sectors is foreseen.