Draft Order laid before Parliament under section 59(9) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009; draft to lie for forty days pursuant to section 6(1) of the Statutory Instruments Act 1946, during which period either House of Parliament may resolve that the Order be not made.

DRAFT STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2015 No. ****

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The West Devon (Electoral Changes) Order 2015

Made - - - - ***

Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

Under section 58(4) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009(1) ("the Act") the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(2) ("the Commission") published a report dated October 2014 stating its recommendations for changes to the electoral arrangements for the district of West Devon. The Commission has decided to give effect to the recommendations.

A draft of the instrument has been laid before Parliament and a period of forty days has expired and neither House has resolved that the instrument be not made.

The Commission makes the following Order in exercise of the power conferred by section 59(1) of the Act:

Citation and commencement

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the West Devon (Electoral Changes) Order 2015.
- (2) This Order comes into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on the day after it is made;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2015.

Interpretation

2. In this Order—

^{(1) 2009} c.20.

⁽²⁾ The Local Government Boundary Commission for England was established on 1st April 2010 by section 55(1) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009.

"map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the West Devon (Electoral Changes) Order 2015", prints of which are available for inspection at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England;

"ordinary day of election of councillors" has the meaning given by section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983(3).

Wards of the district of West Devon and number of councillors

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the district of West Devon are abolished.
- (2) The district of West Devon is divided into 18 district wards, each listed by name in the first column of the table in the Schedule.
- (3) Each district ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the district ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each district ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the table in the Schedule.
- (5) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Wards of the parish of Okehampton and number of councillors

- **4.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Okehampton are abolished.
- (2) The parish of Okehampton is divided into two parish wards named respectively—
 - (a) North;
 - (b) South.
- (3) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.
 - (4) Eight councillors are to be elected for North parish ward.
 - (5) Six councillors are to be elected for South parish ward.

Wards of the parish of Okehampton Hamlets and number of councillors

- **5.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Okehampton Hamlets are abolished.
- (2) The parish of Okehampton Hamlets is divided into three parish wards named respectively—
 - (a) Little Fatherford;
 - (b) North;
 - (c) South.
- (3) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.
 - (4) One councillor is to be elected for each of Little Fatherford and South parish wards.
 - (5) Six councillors are to be elected for North parish ward.

^{(3) 1983} c.2; section 37 has been amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c.50), paragraph 5 of Schedule 3 to the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c.29) and section 60(1) of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 (c.28).

Wards of the parish of Tavistock and number of councillors

- **6.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Tavistock are abolished.
- (2) The parish of Tavistock is divided into three parish wards named respectively—
 - (a) North;
 - (b) South East;
 - (c) South West.
- (3) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.
 - (4) Seven councillors are to be elected for North parish ward.
 - (5) Five councillors are to be elected for each of South East and South West parish wards.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England

Name
Chairman
Local Government Boundary Commission for
England

Date

SCHEDULE Article 3

Names of district wards and number of councillors

(1)	(2)	
Name of district ward	Number of councillors	
Bere Ferrers	2	
Bridestowe	2	
Buckland Monachorum	2	
Burrator	2	
Chagford	1	
Dartmoor	1	
Drewsteignton	1	
Exbourne	2	
Hatherleigh	2	
Mary Tavy	1	
Milton Ford	1	
Okehampton North	3	
Okehampton South	2	
South Tawton	1	
Tamarside	1	
Tavistock North	3	
Tavistock South East	2	
Tavistock South West	2	

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to electoral arrangements for the district of West Devon, which is a non-metropolitan district with borough status, following recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England. The area of the district remains unchanged. The electoral changes apply in respect of local government elections to be held on and after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2015.

Document Generated: 2023-05-29

Draft Legislation: This is a draft item of legislation. This draft has since been made as a UK Statutory Instrument: The West Devon (Electoral Changes) Order 2015 No. 74

Article 3 abolishes the existing wards of the district of West Devon and replaces them with 18 new ones. That article, the map (as defined in article 2) and the Schedule also establish the names, areas and number of councillors of the new district wards.

Articles 4 to 6 abolish the existing wards of the parishes of (i) Okehampton, (ii) Okehampton Hamlets and (iii) Tavistock respectively and replace them with new ones. Those articles and the map also establish the names, areas and number of councillors of the new parish wards.

The map defined in article 2 shows the new district and parish wards. It is available at http://www.lgbce.org.uk/current-reviews/south-west/devon/west-devon-fer. The map is also available for inspection at all reasonable times at the offices of West Devon Borough District Council, Kilworthy Park, Drake Road, Tavistock, Devon PL19 0BZ and at the offices of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England at Layden House, 76 – 86 Turnmill Street, London EC1M 5LG.

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no impact on the private or voluntary sectors is foreseen.