Draft Order laid before Parliament under section 59(9) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009; draft to lie for forty days, pursuant to section 6(1) of the Statutory Instruments Act 1946, during which period either House of Parliament may resolve that the Order be not made.

DRAFT STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2014 No.

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The East Dorset (Electoral Changes) Order 2014

Made - - - ***

Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

Under section 58(4) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009(a) ("the Act") the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(b) published a report dated October 2013 stating its recommendations for changes to the electoral arrangements for the district of East Dorset. The Commission has decided to give effect to the recommendations.

A draft of the instrument has been laid before Parliament and a period of forty days has expired and neither House has resolved that the instrument be not made.

The Commission makes the following Order in exercise of the power conferred by section 59(1) of the Act:

Citation and commencement

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the East Dorset (Electoral Changes) Order 2014.
- (2) This Order comes into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on 15th October 2014;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2015.

Interpretation

2. In this Order—

"map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the East Dorset (Electoral Changes) Order 2014", prints of which are available for inspection at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England;

⁽a) 2009 c.20.

⁽b) The Local Government Boundary Commission for England was established on 1st April 2010 by section 55(1) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009 (c.20).

"ordinary day of election of councillors" has the meaning given by section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983(a).

Wards of the district of East Dorset and number of councillors

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the district of East Dorset are abolished.
- (2) The district of East Dorset is divided into 16 district wards, each listed by name in the first column of Schedule 1.
- (3) Each district ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the district ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each district ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of Schedule 1.
- (5) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Parish wards and number of councillors

- **4.**—(1) The existing wards of the following parishes are abolished—
 - (a) Colehill;
 - (b) Ferndown;
 - (c) Verwood.
- (2) The parish of Colehill is divided into four parish wards, each listed by name in the first column of the first table in Schedule 2.
- (3) The parish of Ferndown is divided into eight parish wards, each listed by name in the first column of the second table in Schedule 2.
- (4) The parish of Verwood is divided into five parish wards, each listed by name in the first column of the third table in Schedule 2.
- (5) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.
- (6) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of each table in Schedule 2.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England

Chairman Local Government Boundary Commission for England

⁽a) 1983 c.2; section 37 has been amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c.50), paragraph 5 of Schedule 3 to the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c.29) and section 60(1) of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 (c.28).

SCHEDULE 1

Article 3

Names of district wards and number of councillors

(1)	(2)	
Name of district ward	Number of councillors	
Alderholt	1	
Ameysford	1	
Colehill East	2	
Colehill West	1	
Corfe Mullen	3	
Crane	1	
Ferndown Central	3	
Hampreston & Longham	1	
Handley Vale	1	
Parley	2	
St Leonards	3	
Stour	1	
Verwood East	2	
Verwood West	2	
West Moors & Holt	3	
Wimborne Minster	2	

SCHEDULE 2

Article 4

Table 1 Colehill

(1)	(2)
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors
Colehill East	9
Colehill West	4
Lacey	1
Parmiter	1

Table 2

Ferndown

(1)	(2)	
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors	
Ameysford	4	
Ferndown Central	5	
Ferndown Links North	6	
Ferndown Links South	1	
Hampreston	1	
Longham	3	
Stapehill East	1	
Stapehill West	2	

Table 3

Verwood

(1)	(2)
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors
Three Cross	2
Verwood Dewlands North	1
Verwood Dewlands South	6
Verwood Newton & Potterne	3
Verwood Stephens Castle	6

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to electoral arrangements for the district of East Dorset following recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England. The area of the district remains unchanged.

The electoral changes apply in respect of local government elections to be held on and after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2015.

Article 3 abolishes the existing wards of the district of East Dorset and replaces them with 16 new ones. That article, the map (as defined in article 2) and Schedule 1 also establish the names, areas and number of councillors of the new district wards.

Article 4 replaces the existing wards of the parishes of Colehill, Ferndown and Verwood. That article, the map and Schedule 2 also establish the names, areas and number of councillors of the new parish wards.

The map defined in article 2 shows the new district and parish wards. It is available at http://www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/south-west/dorset/east-dorset-fer. The map is also available for inspection at all reasonable times at the offices of East Dorset District Council, Council Offices, Furzehill, Wimbourne, Dorset BH21 4HN and at the offices of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England at Layden House, 76 – 86 Turnmill Street, London EC1M 5LG.

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no impact on the private or voluntary sectors is foreseen.

© Crown copyright 2013

Printed and published in the UK by The Stationery Office Limited under the authority and superintendence of Carol Tullo, Controller of Her Majesty's Stationery Office and Queen's Printer of Acts of Parliament.

ISBN 978-0-11-110694-

£4.00

UK201312091004 12/2013 19585