Draft Order laid before Parliament under section 59(9) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009; draft to lie for forty days, pursuant to section 6(1) of the Statutory Instruments Act 1946, during which period either House of Parliament may resolve that the Order be not made.

### DRAFT STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

## 2014 No.

## LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The Warwick (Electoral Changes) Order 2014

Made - - - \*\*\*

Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

Under section 58(4) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009(a) ("the Act") the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(b) published a report dated March 2013 stating its recommendations for changes to the electoral arrangements for the district of Warwick. The Commission has decided to give effect to the recommendations.

A draft of the instrument has been laid before Parliament and a period of forty days has expired and neither House has resolved that the instrument be not made.

The Commission makes the following Order in exercise of the power conferred by section 59(1) of the Act:

### Citation and commencement

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Warwick (Electoral Changes) Order 2014.
- (2) This Order comes into force—
  - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on 15th October 2014;
  - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2015.

#### Interpretation

2. In this Order—

"map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the Warwick (Electoral Changes) Order 2014", prints of which are available for inspection at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England;

<sup>(</sup>a) 2009 c.20.

<sup>(</sup>b) The Local Government Boundary Commission for England was established on 1st April 2010 by section 55(1) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009 (c.20).

"ordinary day of election of councillors" has the meaning given by section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983(a).

#### Wards of the district of Warwick and number of councillors

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the district of Warwick are abolished.
- (2) The district of Warwick is divided into 22 district wards, each listed by name in the first column of Schedule 1.
- (3) Each district ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the district ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each district ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of Schedule 1.
- (5) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

#### Parish Wards and number of councillors

- **4.**—(1) The existing wards of the following parishes are abolished—
  - (a) Cubbington;
  - (b) Kenilworth;
  - (c) Royal Leamington Spa;
  - (d) Warwick;
  - (e) Whitnash.
- (2) The parish of Cubbington is divided into two parish wards, each listed by name in the first column of the first table in Schedule 2.
- (3) The parish of Kenilworth is divided into four parish wards, each listed by name in the first column of the second table in Schedule 2.
- (4) The parish of Royal Leamington Spa is divided into 11 parish wards, each listed by name in the first column of the third table in Schedule 2.
- (5) The parish of Warwick is divided into ten parish wards, each listed by name in the first column of the fourth table in Schedule 2.
- (6) The parish of Whitnash is divided into four parish wards, each listed by name in the first column of the fifth table in Schedule 2.
- (7) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.
- (8) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of each table in Schedule 2.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England

Chairman Local Government Boundary Commission for England

<sup>(</sup>a) 1983 c.2; section 37 has been amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c.50), paragraph 5 of Schedule 3 to the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c.29) and section 60(1) of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 (c.28).

# SCHEDULE 1

Article 3

## Names of district wards and number of councillors

(1)	(2)	
Name of district ward	Number of councillors	
Abbey	3	
Arden	2	
Aylesford	2	
Bishop's Tachbrook	1	
Brunswick	2	
Budbrooke	2	
Clarendon	2	
Crown	2	
Emscote	2	
Leam	2	
Manor	2	
Milverton	2	
Myton & Heathcote	2	
Newbold	2	
Park Hill	3	
Radford Semele	1	
Saltisford	2	
St John's	3	
Stoneleigh & Cubbington	2	
Sydenham	2	
Whitnash	3	
Woodloes	2	

# SCHEDULE 2

Article 4

# Table 1 Cubbington

(1)	(2)	
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors	
Cubbington	7	
New Cubbington	5	

## Table 2

## Kenilworth

(1)	(2)
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors
Abbey	4
Park Hill	6
Queen's	1
St John's	6

## Table 3

## **Royal Leamington Spa**

(1)	(2)	
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors	
Arlington	2	
Brunswick North	2	
Brunswick South	1	
Clarendon	1	
Leam	2	
Lillington	2	
Lime	1	
Milverton	2	
Northumberland	1	
Sydenham	1	
Victoria Park	1	

Table 4

## Warwick

(1)	(2)
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors
Aylesford	2
Bridge End	1
Cliffe	1
Emscote	2
Heathcote	2
Myton	1
Saltisford	2
Saltisford Common	1
St Nicholas	1
Woodloes Park	2

Table 5 Whitnash

(1)	(2)
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors
East	1
North	5
South	5
West	4

## **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to electoral arrangements for the district of Warwick following recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England. The area of the district remains unchanged.

The electoral changes apply in respect of local government elections to be held on and after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2015.

Article 3 abolishes the existing wards of the district of Warwick and replaces them with 22 new ones. That article, the map (as defined in article 2) and Schedule 1 also establish the names, areas and number of councillors of the new district wards.

Article 4 replaces the existing wards of the parishes of Cubbington, Kenilworth, Royal Learnington Spa, Warwick and Whitnash. That article, the map and Schedule 2 also establish the names, areas and number of councillors of the new parish wards.

The map defined in article 2 shows the new district and parish wards. It is available at http://www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/west-midlands/warwickshire/warwick-fer. The map is also available for inspection at all reasonable times at the offices of Warwick District Council, Riverside House, Milverton Hill, Leamington Spa CV32 5HZ and at the offices of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England at Layden House, 76 – 86 Turnmill Street, London EC1M 5LG.

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no impact on the private or voluntary sectors is foreseen.

#### © Crown copyright 2013

Printed and published in the UK by The Stationery Office Limited under the authority and superintendence of Carol Tullo, Controller of Her Majesty's Stationery Office and Queen's Printer of Acts of Parliament.

£4.00

UK201310231008 11/2013 19585

ISBN 978-0-11-110528-3

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/id/ukdsi/2014/9780111105283