DRAFT STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2011 No.

The Cheshire East (Electoral Changes) Order 2011

Citation and commencement

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Cheshire East (Electoral Changes) Order 2011.
- (2) This Order comes into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the elections of councillors, on the day after that on which it is made;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2011.

Interpretation

2. In this Order—

"map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the Cheshire East (Electoral Changes) Order 2011", of which prints are available for inspection at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England;

"ordinary day of election of councillors" has the meaning given by section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983(1).

Wards of the district of Cheshire East and number of councillors

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the district of Cheshire East are abolished.
- (2) The district is divided into fifty-two wards each bearing a name listed in column 1 of the Schedule.
 - (3) Each ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in column 2 of the Schedule.
- (5) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Wards of the parish of Congleton and number of councillors

- **4.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Congleton are abolished.
- (2) The parish is divided into two wards named respectively—
 - (a) Congleton East;
 - (b) Congleton West.
- (3) Each ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward.

^{(1) 1983} c.2. Section 37 has been amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c.50), section 17 of the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c.29) and section 60 of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 (c.28).

(4) Ten councillors are to be elected for each ward.

Wards of the parish of Gawsworth and number of councillors

- 5.—(1) The parish of Gawsworth is divided into two wards named respectively—
 - (a) Gawsworth Moss;
 - (b) Gawsworth Village.
- (2) Each ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (3) Six councillors are to be elected for Gawsworth Village ward.
- (4) Three councillors are to be elected for Gawsworth Moss ward.

Wards of the parish of Nantwich and number of councillors

- **6.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Nantwich are abolished.
- (2) The parish is divided into two wards named respectively—
 - (a) Nantwich North and West;
 - (b) Nantwich South.
- (3) Each ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (4) Seven councillors are to be elected for Nantwich North and West ward.
- (5) Five councillors are to be elected for Nantwich South ward.

Wards of the parish of Poynton-with-Worth and number of councillors

- 7.—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Poynton-with-Worth are abolished.
- (2) The parish is divided into two wards named respectively—
 - (a) Poynton East;
 - (b) Poynton West.
- (3) Each ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (4) Nine councillors are to be elected for each ward.

Wards of the parish of Sandbach and number of councillors

- **8.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Sandbach are abolished.
- (2) The parish is divided into four wards named respectively—
 - (a) Sandbach Elworth;
 - (b) Sandbach Ettiley Heath and Wheelock;
 - (c) Sandbach Heath and East;
 - (d) Sandbach Town.
- (3) Each ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (4) Five councillors are to be elected for each ward.

Wards of the parish of Weston and number of councillors

- 9.—(1) The parish of Weston is divided into two wards named respectively—
 - (a) Weston Village;

- (b) Weston Wychwood.
- (2) Each ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (3) Five councillors are to be elected for Weston Village ward.
- (4) Three councillors are to be elected for Weston Wychwood ward.

Wards of the parish of Willaston and number of councillors

- **10.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Willaston are abolished.
- (2) The parish is divided into two wards named respectively—
 - (a) Willaston North;
 - (b) Willaston Village.
- (3) Each ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (4) Ten councillors are to be elected for Willaston Village ward.
- (5) Two councillors are to be elected for Willaston North ward.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England on the day of

Chairman Local Government Boundary Commission for England