DRAFT STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2009 No.

The Cornwall (Electoral Arrangements and Consequential Amendments) Order 2009

Electoral divisions of the county of Cornwall and number of councillors

3.—(1) The existing electoral divisions of the county shall be abolished.

(2) The county shall be divided into 123 electoral divisions which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of the Schedule.

(3) The electoral divisions shall comprise the areas illustrated on sheet 1 and specified in column (2) of the Schedule by reference to parishes, or described in that column by reference to parts of parishes or other areas indicated on a numbered sheet, a numbered map or both a numbered sheet and a numbered map.

(4) One councillor shall be elected for each electoral division.

(5) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

(6) Paragraph (1) does not affect the term of office of any person elected for an existing electoral division of the county; and any such person shall continue in office until the fourth day after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2009.