SCHEDULES

SCHEDULE 1

THE CATHEDRALS FABRIC COMMISSION FOR ENGLAND

Membership

Seventeen members of the Commission shall be appointed by the Archbishops of Canterbury and York as follows—

- (a) one member shall be appointed on the nomination of the House of Bishops from among the members of that House;
- (b) two members shall be appointed on the nomination of such organisation as appears to the Archbishops to be representative of the deans and provosts of cathedral churches and at least one of those two members shall be a dean or provost of a cathedral church;
- (c) two members shall be appointed on the nomination of the Council for the Care of Churches from among the members of that Council or a committee thereof;
- (d) two members shall be persons holding office as architects to cathedral churches who shall be appointed after consultation with the President of the Royal Institute of British Architects;
- (e) two members shall be architects, chartered building surveyors or chartered engineers, with experience of the care of historic buildings, who shall be appointed after consultation with the President of the Royal Institute of British Architects, the President of the Ecclesiastical Architects and Surveyors Association, the President of the Institution of Structural Engineers and the President of the Institution of Civil Engineers;
- (f) one member shall be a painter, sculptor or other artist, with experience of work for cathedral or other churches, who shall be appointed after consultation with the President of the Royal Academy of Art;
- (g) seven members shall be persons who between them have special knowledge of archaeology, architecture, archives, art, the care of books and manuscripts, history (including history of art and architecture) and liturgy (including church music) and of whom—
 - (i) one shall be appointed after consultation with the Secretary of State for the Environment;
 - (ii) one shall be appointed after consultation with the Chairman of the Historic Buildings and Monuments Commission;
 - (iii) one shall be appointed after consultation with the Chairman of the Royal Fine Art Commission;
 - (iv) one shall be appointed after consultation with the President of the Council for British Archaeology and the President of the Society of Antiquaries of London;
 - (v) two shall be appointed after consultation with the chairman of the Liturgical Commission; and

3

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally enacted).

(vi) one shall be appointed after consultation with the Director of the Royal School of Church Music.