## 2021 No. 19

### PUBLIC HEALTH

# The Health Protection (Coronavirus) (International Travel) (Scotland) Amendment (No. 4) Regulations 2021

Approved by the Scottish Parliament

Made - - - - 14th January 2021

Coming into force - - at 4.00 a.m. on 15th January 2021

Laid before the Scottish Parliament 15th January 2021

The Scottish Ministers make the following Regulations in exercise of the powers conferred by sections 94(1)(b)(i) and 122(2)(b) of the Public Health etc. (Scotland) Act 2008(a), and all other powers enabling them to do so.

In accordance with section 122(6) of that Act, the Scottish Ministers consider that these Regulations need to be made urgently, without a draft having been laid before, and approved by resolution of the Scottish Parliament.

#### Citation and commencement

- 1.—(1) These Regulations may be cited as the Health Protection (Coronavirus) (International Travel) (Scotland) Amendment (No. 4) Regulations 2021.
  - (2) These Regulations come into force at 4.00 a.m. on 15 January 2021.

# Amendment of the Health Protection (Coronavirus) (International Travel) (Scotland) Regulations 2020

- **2.**—(1) The Health Protection (Coronavirus) (International Travel) (Scotland) Regulations 2020(**b**) are amended as follows.
  - (2) In Part 1 of schedule A1 (countries, territories, or parts of countries or territories), omit—
    - (a) "Aruba",
    - (b) "The Azores",
    - (c) "Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba",
    - (d) "Chile",

<sup>(</sup>a) 2008 asp 5.

<sup>(</sup>b) S.S.I. 2020/169, as amended by S.S.I. 2020/171, S.S.I. 2020/184, S.S.I. 2020/209, S.S.I. 2020/221, S.S.I. 2020/224, S.S.I. 2020/229, S.S.I. 2020/233, S.S.I. 2020/235, S.S.I. 2020/242, S.S.I. 2020/252, S.S.I. 2020/263, S.S.I. 2020/271, S.S.I. 2020/274, S.S.I. 2020/274, S.S.I. 2020/280, S.S.I. 2020/288, S.S.I. 2020/301, S.S.I. 2020/307, S.S.I. 2020/326, S.S.I. 2020/330, S.S.I. 2020/343, S.S.I. 2020/354, S.S.I. 2020/358, S.S.I. 2020/378, S.S.I. 2020/404, S.S.I. 2020/431, S.S.I. 2020/444, S.S.I. 2020/474, S.S.I. 2021/5, S.S.I. 2021/6, S.S.I. 2021/7 and S.I. 2020/942.

- (e) "Madeira",
- (f) "Qatar".
- (3) In Part 2 of schedule A1, omit "Falkland Islands".
- (4) In schedule A2 (acute risk countries, territories or parts thereof)—
  - (a) after "Angola" insert "Argentina" and "Bolivia",
  - (b) after "Botswana" insert "Brazil", "Cape Verde", "Chile", "Colombia" and "Ecuador",
  - (c) after "Eswatini" insert "Falkland Islands", French Guiana" and "Guyana",
  - (d) after "Namibia" insert "Panama", Paraguay", "Peru" and "Portugal",
  - (e) after "South Africa" insert "Suriname", "Uruguay" and "Venezuela".

#### Saving

3. The amendments made by these Regulations do not apply in relation to any person who arrived in Scotland during the period beginning at 12.01 a.m. on 8 June 2020 and ending immediately prior to the coming into force of these Regulations, and the Health Protection (Coronavirus) (International Travel) (Scotland) Regulations 2020 continue to apply to such persons as if the amendments made by these Regulations had not been made.

MICHAEL MATHESON
A member of the Scottish Government

St Andrew's House, Edinburgh 14th January 2021

#### EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Regulations)

These Regulations amend the Health Protection (Coronavirus) (International Travel) (Scotland) Regulations 2020 ("the International Travel Regulations"). They remove Aruba, The Azores, Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba, The Falkland Islands, Madeira and Qatar from the list of exempt countries and territories in schedule A1. The effect is that as of 4.00 a.m. on 15 January 2021, travellers arriving in Scotland having departed from or transited through Aruba, Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba or Qatar will be subject to the movement restriction in regulation 6 of the International Travel Regulations.

The Regulations also move Chile from the list of exempt countries and territories in Part 1 of schedule A1 to the list of acute risk countries and territories in schedule A2 of the International Travel Regulations, and they add Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Cape Verde, Colombia, Ecuador, the Falkland Islands, French Guiana, Guyana, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Portugal (including Madeira and The Azores), Suriname, Uruguay and Venezuela to that list.

The effect is that as of 4.00 a.m. on 15 January 2021, travellers arriving in Scotland having departed from or transited through any of these countries or territories will be subject to the additional measures applying to arrivals from acute risk countries. This means that arriving travellers and all members of their household are subject to the movement restriction in regulation 6 of the International Travel Regulations, and exemptions in respect of both the movement restriction and the requirement to complete the Passenger Locator Form do not apply.

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument.

© Crown copyright 2021

Printed in the UK by The Stationery Office Limited under the authority and superintendence of Jeff James, The Queen's Printer for Scotland

ISBN 978-0-11-102892-6

£4.90