#### SCOTTISH STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

## 2016 No. 187

### **CRIMINAL LAW**

# The Sexual Offences Act 2003 (Prescribed Police Stations) (Scotland) Amendment Regulations 2016

Made - - - - 24th May 2016
Laid before the Scottish
Parliament - - - 26th May 2016
Coming into force - 1st July 2016

The Scottish Ministers make the following Regulations in exercise of the powers conferred by section 87(1)(a) of the Sexual Offences Act 2003(1) and all other powers enabling them to do so.

#### Citation and commencement

1. These Regulations may be cited as the Sexual Offences Act 2003 (Prescribed Police Stations) (Scotland) Amendment Regulations 2016 and come into force on 1st July 2016.

# Amendment of the Sexual Offences Act 2003 (Prescribed Police Stations) (Scotland) Regulations 2014

- **2.**—(1) The Sexual Offences Act 2003 (Prescribed Police Stations) (Scotland) Regulations 2014(2) are amended as follows.
  - (2) In schedule 1(list of police stations)—
    - (a) in the entry relating to Alloa Police Station, for "Mar Place" substitute "6 Mar Place";
    - (b) in the entry relating to Banff Police Station, for "High Shore" substitute "19 High Shore";
    - (c) omit the entry for Cumnock Police Station;
    - (d) for the entry relating to Cupar Police Station, substitute—

"Cupar Police Station

County Buildings

Waterend Road

Cupar

 <sup>2003</sup> c.42. The functions of the Secretary of State were, so far as exercisable when devolved competence, transferred to the Scottish Ministers by virtue of section 142(6) of the Sexual Offences Act 2003 and section 53 of the Scotland Act 1998 (c.46).

<sup>(2)</sup> S.S.I. 2014/147.

#### KY15 5HP";

- (e) in the entry relating to Dumbarton Police Station, for "Stirling Road" substitute "Overtoun":
- (f) in the entry relating to Easterhouse Police Station, for "G34 9DU" substitute "G34 9LW";
- (g) for the entry relating to Fort William Police Station, substitute—

"Fort William Police Station

Blar Mhor

Waterend Road

Fort William

PH33 7GA";

- (h) in the entry relating to Fraserburgh Police Station, for "Finlayson Street" substitute "71-73 Finlayson Street";
- (i) omit the entry for Gayfield Police Station;
- (j) in the entry relating to Glasgow West End Police Station, for "609-611" substitute "609-613";
- (k) for the entry relating to Glenrothes Police Station, substitute—

"Glenrothes Police Station

**Detroit Road** 

Glenrothes

KY6 2RJ";

- (l) in the entry relating to Grangemouth Police Station, for "FK3 8AN" substitute "FK3 8AF";
- (m) in the entry relating to Hamilton Police Station, for "ML3 6AS" substitute "ML3 6AT";
- (n) in the entry relating to Lanark Police Station, for "ML11 9HB" substitute "ML11 9HD";
- (o) in the entry relating to Stonehaven Police Station, for "AB39 2JD" substitute "AB39 2JP"; and
- (p) after the entry for Wick Police Station insert—

"Barrhead Police Station

Bank Street

Barrhead

G78 2RA;

Coatbridge Police Station

Whittington Street

Coatbridge

ML5 3AD;

**Cumbernauld Police Station** 

South Muirhead Road

Cumbernauld

G67 1AX;

Helensburgh Police Station

East King Street

**Status:** This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Helensburgh

G84 7QP;

Keith Police Station

Turner Street

Keith

AB55 5FR;

Levenmouth Police Station

Sea Road

Methil

KY8 3DE;

Tiree Police Station

Scarinish

Isle of Tiree

Argyll

PA77 6TN".

St Andrew's House, Edinburgh 24th May 2016

MICHAEL MATHESON
A member of the Scottish Government

#### **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Regulations)

These Regulations amend schedule 1 of the Sexual Offences Act 2003 (Prescribed Police Stations) (Scotland) Regulations 2014 ("the principal Regulations").

By virtue of section 87(1) of the Sexual Offences Act 2003 relevant offenders must fulfil their notification requirements under that Act by attending any police station which is prescribed for this purpose in regulations. The principal Regulations prescribe those police stations. These Regulations amend the principal Regulations by amending the address of Alloa Police Station, Banff Police Station, Cupar Police Station, Dumbarton Police Station, Easterhouse Police Station, Fort William Police Station, Fraserburgh Police Station, Glasgow West End Police Station, Glenrothes Police Station, Grangemouth Police Station, Hamilton Police Station, Lanark Police Station and Stonehaven Police Station. The principal Regulations are also amended by removing Cumnock Police Station and Gayfield Police Station and adding Barrhead Police Station, Coatbridge Police Station, Cumbernauld Police Station, Helensburgh Police Station, Keith Police Station, Levenmouth Police Station and Tiree Police Station to the prescribed police stations.