Scottish Statutory Instruments

2009 No. 61


The Education (Recognised Bodies) (Scotland) Amendment Order 2009


18th February 2009

Coming into force

2nd March 2009

The Scottish Ministers make the following Order in exercise of the powers conferred by section 216(1) of the Education Reform Act 1988(1) and all other powers enabling them to do so.

Citation, commencement and extent

1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Education (Recognised Bodies) (Scotland) Amendment Order 2009 and comes into force on 2nd March 2009.

(2) This Order extends to Scotland only.

Amendment of the Education (Recognised Bodies) (Scotland) Order 2007

2.  The Schedule to the Education (Recognised Bodies) (Scotland) Order 2007(2) is amended in accordance with articles 3 to 15.

3.  After the entry for Archbishop of Canterbury insert “Arts Institute at Bournemouth, The”.

4.  After the entry for University of the Arts, London insert “Ashridge (Bonar Law Memorial) Trust (also known as “Ashridge”)”.

5.  After the entry for Birmingham City University insert “University College Birmingham”.

6.  Omit the entry for College of St Mark & St John, Plymouth and after the entry for Oxford Brookes University insert “University College Plymouth, St Mark & St John”.

7.  For “University College for the Creative Arts at Canterbury, Epsom, Farnham, Maidstone and Rochester” substitute “University for the Creative Arts”.

8.  After the entry for University of Gloucestershire insert “Glyndŵr University (Prifysgol Glyndŵr)”.

9.  Omit the entry for Henley Management College.

10.  Omit the entry for Napier University and after the entry for University of Edinburgh insert “Edinburgh Napier University”.

11.  For “Newman College of Higher Education, Birmingham” substitute “Newman University College”.

12.  After the entry for University of Northumbria at Newcastle insert “Norwich University College of the Arts”.

13.  For “University of St. Andrews” substitute “University of St Andrews”.

14.  After the entry for Swansea University (Prifysgol Abertawe) insert “Swansea Metropolitan University (Prifysgol Fetropolitan Abertawe)”.

15.  After the entry for Thames Valley University insert–

(a)“Trinity College Carmarthen”; and

(b)UHI Millennium Institute”.


A member of the Scottish Executive

St Andrew’s House,


18th February 2009

Explanatory Note

(This note is not part of the Order)

The Education (Recognised Bodies) (Scotland) Order 2007 (“the 2007 Order”) lists the name of all those bodies which appear to the Scottish Ministers to be recognised bodies for the purposes of section 214(2)(a) or (b) of the Education Reform Act 1988 (“the 1988 Act”).

This Order amends the 2007 Order to update the list of bodies contained in the Schedule to that Order. Article 9 removes an entry for a body which no longer has degree awarding powers. Articles 3 to 5, 8, 12, 14 and 15 add entries for bodies which now appear to the Scottish Ministers to be recognised bodies under the 1988 Act. Articles 6, 7, 10 and 11 correct entries for bodies which have changed their names since the 2007 Order was made. Article 13 corrects a minor error.


1988 c. 40. Relevant modifications to that Act are contained in the Scotland Act 1998 (Consequential Modifications) (No. 2) Order 1999, Schedule 2, paragraph 91 (S.I. 1999/1820). The functions of the Secretary of State were transferred to the Scottish Ministers by virtue of section 53 of the Scotland Act 1998 (c. 46).