SCOTTISH STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2008 No.370

RATING AND VALUATION

The Non-Domestic Rating (Rural Areas and Rateable Value Limits) (Scotland) Amendment Order 2008

Made - - - - 5th November 2008 Laid before the Scottish Parliament - - - 12th November 2008 Coming into force - - 1st April 2009

The Scottish Ministers make the following order in exercise of the powers conferred by paragraph 1(3)(c) of Schedule 2 to the Local Government and Rating Act 1997(1) and all other powers enabling them to do so.

Citation and commencement

1. This Order may be cited as the Non Domestic Rating (Rural Areas and Rateable Value Limits) (Scotland) Amendment Order 2009 and shall come into force on 1st April 2009.

Amendment of the Non-Domestic Rating (Rural Areas and Rateable Value Limits) (Scotland) Order 2005

2. For Schedule 1 (designated rural areas) to the Non Domestic Rating (Rural Areas and Rateable Value Limits) (Scotland) Order 2005(2), substitute the Schedule set out in the Schedule to this Order.

Revocation

3. The Non Domestic Rating (Rural Areas and Rateable Value Limits) (Scotland) Amendment Order 2007(3) is revoked.

^{(1) 1997} c. 29. The functions of the Secretary of State were transferred to the Scottish Ministers by virtue of section 53 of the Scotland Act 1998 (c. 46).

⁽²⁾ S.S.I. 2005/103, amended by S.S.I. 2006/125 and S.S.I. 2007/36.

⁽³⁾ S.S.I. 2007/36.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

St Andrew's House, Edinburgh 5th November 2008

JOHN SWINNEY
A member of the Scottish Executive

SCHEDULE Article 2

Schedule to be substituted for Schedule 1 to the Non Domestic Rating (Rural Areas and Rateable Value Limits) (Scotland) Order 2005.

"SCHEDULE 1

Article 2

DESIGNATED RURAL AREAS

Local authority area	Excluded localities 2
Aberdeenshire	Banchory
	Banff
	Ellon
	Fraserburgh
	Huntly
	Inverurie
	Kemnay
	Kintore
	Macduff
	Newtonhill
	Peterhead
	Portlethen
	Stonehaven
	Turriff
	Westhill
Angus	Arbroath
	Brechin
	Carnoustie
	Dundee
	Forfar
	Kirriemuir
	Montrose
Argyll and Bute	Campbeltown
	Dunoon
	Helensburgh
	Oban
	Rothesay
Clackmannanshire	Alloa
	3

Local authority area 1	Excluded localities 2
	Alva
	Clackmannan
	Tillicoultry
	Tullibody
Dumfries and Galloway	Annan
	Castle Douglas
	Dalbeattie
	Dumfries
	Kirkeudbright
	Locharbriggs
	Lockerbie
	Newton Stewart
	Stranraer
East Ayrshire	Auchinleck
	Cumnock
	Darvel
	Drongan
	Galston
	Hurlford and Crookedholm
	Kilmarnock
	Logan
	Mauchline
	Newmilns
	Stewarton
East Dunbartonshire	Bearsden
	Bishopbriggs
	Kirkintilloch
	Lennoxtown
	Lenzie
	Milngavie
	Milton of Campsie
East Lothian	Cockenzie
	Dunbar
	Haddington
	4

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Local authority area	Excluded localities 2
	Musselburgh
	North Berwick
	Prestonpans
	Tranent
East Renfrewshire	Barrhead
	Busby
	Clarkston
	Eaglesham
	Giffnock
	Neilston
	Newton Mearns
Eilean Siar	Stornoway
Falkirk	Bo'ness
	Bonnybridge
	Carron
	Denny
	Falkirk
	Grangemouth
	Hallglen
	Polmont
	Stenhousemuir
Fife	Anstruther
	Ballingry
	Buckhaven
	Burntisland
	Cardenden
	Cowdenbeath
	Cupar
	Dalgety Bay
	Dunfermline
	Glenrothes
	High Valleyfield
	Inverkeithing
	Kelty
	5

Local authority area	Excluded localities 2
	Kennoway
	Kincardine
	Kirkcaldy
	Leslie
	Leven
	Leuchars
	Lochgelly
	Newport-on-Tay
	Oakley
	Rosyth
	St Andrews
	Tayport
Highland	Alness
	Culloden
	Dingwall
	Fort William
	Invergordon
	Inverness
	Nairn
	Smithton
	Tain
	Thurso
	Westhill
	Wick
Inverclyde	Gourock
	Greenock
	Kilmacolm
	Port Glasgow
Midlothian	Bilston
	Bonnyrigg
	Dalkeith
	Gorebridge
	Loanhead
	Mayfield
	6

Local authority area	Excluded localities 2
	Penicuik
Moray	Buckie
	Elgin
	Forres
	Keith
	Lossiemouth
North Ayrshire	Ardrossan
	Beith
	Dalry
	Dreghorn
	Irvine
	Kilbirnie
	Kilwinning
	Largs
	Saltcoats
	Springside
	Stevenston
	West Kilbride
North Lanarkshire	Airdrie
	Bellshill
	Chapelhall
	Chryston
	Coatbridge
	Cumbernauld
	Holytown
	Kilsyth
	Moodiesburn
	Motherwell
	Newarthill
	Newmains
	New Stevenston
	Shotts
	Stepps
	Viewpark

Local authority area I	Excluded localities 2
	Wishaw
Orkney Islands	Kirkwall
Perth and Kinross	Auchterarder
	Blairgowrie
	Crieff
	Kinross
	New Scone
	Perth
Renfrewshire	Bishopton
	Bridge of Weir
	Elderslie
	Erskine
	Houston
	Inchinnan
	Johnstone
	Kilbarchan
	Linwood
	Paisley
	Renfrew
Scottish Borders	Eyemouth
	Galashiels
	Hawick
	Jedburgh
	Kelso
	Peebles
	Selkirk
Shetland Islands	Lerwick
South Ayrshire	Ayr
	Girvan
	Maybole
	Prestwick
	Troon
South Lanarkshire	Blantyre
	Bothwell

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Local authority area	Excluded localities
1	2 Cambuslang
	Carluke
	East Kilbride
	Glasgow
	Hamilton
	Kirkmuirhill and Blackwood
	Lanark
	Larkhall
	Lesmahagow
	Rutherglen
	Stonehouse
	Strathaven
	Uddingston
Stirling	Bannockburn
<i>5</i> <i></i>	Bridge of Allan
	Callander
	Dunblane
	Stirling
West Dunbartonshire	Alexandria
	Bonhill
	Bowling
	Clydebank
	Dumbarton
	Duntocher and Hardgate
	Faifley
	Milton
	Old Kilpatrick
	Renton
West Lothian	Armadale
Joe Zomini	Bathgate
	Blackburn
	Broxburn
	East Calder
	Fauldhouse
	9

Local authority area I	Excluded localities 2
	Linlithgow
	Livingston
	West Calder
	Whitburn"

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order amends the Non Domestic Rating (Rural Areas and Rateable Value Limits) (Scotland) Order 2005 ("the 2005 Order") to add or remove certain localities from column 2 of Schedule 1 to that Order. The localities which have been added are:

- "Kintore" in the local authority area of Aberdeenshire;
- "Drongan" in the local authority area of East Ayrshire;
- "High Valleyfield" in the local authority area of Fife;
- "Leuchars" in the local authority area of Fife;
- "Callander" in the local authority area of Stirling;
- "West Calder" in the local authority area of West Lothian.

The locality which has been removed is:

— "New Cumnock" in the local authority area of East Ayrshire.

These adjustments have been made because the populations of these localities have either fallen below or risen above 3,000 and, as a result, they are now considered as located within or outwith the local authority areas designated as rural areas for the purpose of paragraph 1 of Schedule 2 to the Local Government and Rating Act 1997 by article 2 of the 2005 Order. The designated areas are those local authority areas specified in column 1 of Schedule 1 to this Order, but excluding all those localities listed in column 2 of the Schedule. Discretionary relief is available for property used for purposes beneficial to the local community in those settlements of less than 3,000 people in such designated rural areas.

The Order also revokes the Non Domestic Rating (Rural Areas and Rateable Value Limits) (Scotland) Amendment Order 2007.

The opportunity has also been taken to list the localities alphabetically for each local authority area.

A Regulatory Impact Assessment has not been produced for this instrument as it has no cost on business.