### SCOTTISH STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

## 2008 No. 35

## **PRISONS**

# The Discontinuance of Legalised Police Cells (Scotland) Revocation Rules 2008

Made - - - - 7th February 2008 Laid before the Scottish Parliament - - - 12th February 2008 Coming into force - 19th February 2008

The Scottish Ministers make the following Rules in exercise of the powers conferred by sections 14 and 39 of the Prisons (Scotland) Act 1989(1) and all other powers enabling them to do so.

In accordance with section 14(1) of that Act, Northern Joint Police Board, as the relevant police authority, have applied to the Scottish Ministers to have these Rules made.

### **Citation and Commencement**

**1.** These Rules may be cited as the Discontinuance of Legalised Police Cells (Scotland) Revocation Rules 2008 and come into force on 19th February 2008.

#### Revocation

2. The Discontinuance of Legalised Police Cells (Scotland) Rules 2008(2) are revoked.

St Andrew's House, Edinburgh 7th February 2008

KENNY MACASKILL
A member of the Scottish Executive

 <sup>1989</sup> c. 45; section 14 was amended by the Prisoners and Criminal Proceedings (Scotland) Act 1993 (c. 9) ("the 1993 Act"), Schedule 5, paragraph 6(3); and by the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1994 (c. 39), Schedule 13, paragraph 162; section 39 was amended by the 1993 Act, sections 24 and 25, Schedule 5, paragraph 6(6) and Schedule 7; by the Criminal Justice and Public Order Act 1994 (c. 33), section 116(4); by the Criminal Procedure (Consequential Provisions) (Scotland) Act 1995 (c. 40), Schedule 4, paragraph 75(4); and by the Crime and Disorder Act 1998 (c. 37), Schedule 8, paragraph 71. The functions of the Secretary of State were transferred to the Scotlish Ministers by virtue of section 53 of the Scotland Act 1998 (c. 46).
 (2) S.S.I. 2008/8.

### **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Rules)

These Rules revoke the Discontinuance of Legalised Police Cells (Scotland) Rules 2008, in order to prevent the discontinuance of the legalised police cells in possession of the Northern Joint Police Board at Kirkwall, Lerwick, Stornoway, Thurso and Lochmaddy.