Scottish Statutory Instruments

2007 No. 97


The Licensing (Designated Airports) (Scotland) Order 2007


20th February 2007

Laid before the Scottish Parliament

21st February 2007

Coming into force

1st February 2008

Whereas it appears to the Scottish Ministers that the airports specified in article 2 of this Order are ones at which there is a substantial amount of international passenger traffic:

Now therefore, in exercise of the powers conferred by section 124(1)(a) of the Licensing (Scotland) Act 2005(1) and of all other powers enabling them in that behalf, the Scottish Ministers hereby make the following Order:

Citation and commencement

1.  This Order may be cited as the Licensing (Designated Airports) (Scotland) Order 2007 and shall come into force on 1st February 2008.

Designated airports

2.  The following airports are designated for the purposes of section 124 of the Licensing (Scotland) Act 2005–

(a)Aberdeen Airport;

(b)Edinburgh Airport;

(c)Glasgow Airport;

(d)Glasgow Prestwick Airport;

(e)Inverness Airport; and

(f)Sumburgh Airport.


Authorised to sign by the Scottish Ministers

St Andrew’s House,


20th February 2007

Explanatory Note

(This note is not part of the Order)

Section 124(1) of the Licensing (Scotland) Act 2005 lists premises which are to be exempt premises for the purposes of that Act. Section 124(1)(a) specifies as exempt premises an examination station at an airport designated by order. The Scottish Ministers may designate an airport in an order only if they consider it to be one at which there is a substantial amount of international passenger traffic.

Article 2 of this Order lists airports designated for the purposes of section 124.