## **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Order)

The Further and Higher Education (Scotland) Act 2005 ("the Act") established the Scottish Further and Higher Education Funding Council and made provision relating to the funding of bodies which provide further and higher education. Those bodies are described in the Act as "fundable bodies" and are listed in schedule 2 to the Act.

This Order updates the list of fundable bodies by amending schedule 2 to the Act to address the merger of Clackmannan College of Further Education with Falkirk College of Further and Higher Education, the merger of Fife College of Further and Higher Education with Glenrothes College, the merger of Glasgow College of Building and Printing with Glasgow College of Food Technology, the change of name from Oatridge Agricultural College to Oatridge College, and the change of name from Queen Margaret University College to Queen Margaret University, Edinburgh.

Article 2(a), (b), (c), (d), (e) and (f) remove, respectively, Clackmannan College of Further Education, Falkirk College of Further and Higher Education, Fife College of Further and Higher Education, Glasgow College of Building and Printing, Glasgow College of Food Technology and Glenrothes College from the list of fundable bodies.

Article 2(g) substitutes for Oatridge Agricultural College its new name, Oatridge College.

Article 2(h) substitutes for Queen Margaret University College its new name, Queen Margaret University, Edinburgh.