#### SCOTTISH STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

## 2006 No. 370

## LOCAL GOVERNMENT

## The Perth and Kinross (Electoral Arrangements) Order 2006

 Made
 22nd June 2006

 Coming into force
 14th July 2006

The Scottish Ministers, in exercise of the powers conferred by section 17(2) of the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1973(1) and giving effect to proposals submitted to them on 6th March 2006 by the Boundary Commission under section 17(1) of that Act regarding electoral arrangements for the area of Perth and Kinross Council, hereby make the following Order:

#### Citation, commencement and application

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Perth and Kinross (Electoral Arrangements) Order 2006 and shall come into force on 14th July 2006.
- (2) This Order shall apply only for the purposes of elections to be held after the date on which section 1 of the Local Governance (Scotland) Act 2004(2) comes into force.

#### Interpretation

- 2. In this Order-
  - (a) a reference to an electoral ward is a reference to that electoral ward as constituted in this Order; and
  - (b) "the deposited data" means the data recorded on the DVD-ROM-
    - (i) entitled "Perth and Kinross (Electoral Arrangements) 2006"; and
    - (ii) deposited with the Scottish Ministers at their offices at Victoria Quay, Leith, Edinburgh EH6 6QQ.

#### **Electoral arrangements**

- **3.**—(1) The area of Perth and Kinross Council shall be divided into 12 electoral wards.
- (2) The number and name of an electoral ward is as specified in columns 1 and 2 respectively of the Schedule to this Order.

<sup>(1) 1973</sup> c. 65. The functions of the Secretary of State transferred to the Scottish Ministers by virtue of section 53 of the Scotland Act 1998 (c. 46).

<sup>(2) 2004</sup> asp 9.

- (3) The number of councillors to be returned for an electoral ward is as specified in the entry in column 3 of the Schedule to this Order corresponding to that electoral ward.
  - (4) The boundaries of the electoral wards are as described by the deposited data.

St Andrew's House, Edinburgh 22nd June 2006

 $\begin{tabular}{ll} $TOM\ MCCABE$\\ A member of the Scottish Executive \end{tabular}$ 

**ELECTORAL WARDS** 

# SCHEDULE

Article 3

#### Column 1 Column 2 Column 3 Number of electoral ward Number of councillors to be Name of electoral ward returned Carse of Gowrie 3 2 4 Strathmore 3 Blairgowrie and Glens 3 4 Highland 3 5 Strathtay 3 6 Strathearn 3 7 Strathallan 3 Kinross-shire Almond and Earn 3 10 Perth City South 4 Perth City North 11 4 12 Perth City Centre 4

### **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect to proposals made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for Scotland for the future electoral arrangements for the area of Perth and Kinross Council. The area of Perth and Kinross Council is divided into 12 electoral wards as described in the Schedule to the Order. The proposals follow on the review of the whole of Scotland undertaken by the Commission in terms review under section 4(1) of the Local Governance (Scotland) Act 2004. The Order applies only for the purposes of elections held after the coming into force of section 1 of that Act.

The Order describes the boundaries of the new electoral wards by means of data stored on a DVD-ROM. Copies of the DVD-ROM are to be deposited with and maps of the boundaries of the electoral wards are available (in hard copy or on line) from the Local Government Boundary Commission for Scotland and Perth and Kinross Council.