SCOTTISH STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2006 No. 125

RATING AND VALUATION

The Non Domestic Rating (Rural Areas and Rateable Value Limits) (Scotland) Amendment Order 2006

Made - - - - 8th March 2006
Laid before the Scottish
Parliament - - - 9th March 2006
Coming into force - 1st April 2006

The Scottish Ministers, in exercise of the powers conferred by paragraph 1(3)(c) of Schedule 2 to the Local Government and Rating Act 1997(1) and of all other powers enabling them in that behalf, hereby make the following Order:

Citation and commencement

1. This Order may be cited as the Non Domestic Rating (Rural Areas and Rateable Value Limits) (Scotland) Amendment Order 2006 and shall come into force on 1st April 2006.

Amendment of the Non Domestic Rating (Rural Areas and Rateable Value Limits) (Scotland) Order 2005

2. The Non Domestic Rating (Rural Areas and Rateable Value Limits) (Scotland) Order 2005(**2**) is amended by substituting for Schedule 1 (designated rural areas) the Schedule set out in the Schedule to this Order.

St Andrew's House, Edinburgh 8th March 2006

GEORGE LYON
Authorised to sign by the Scottish Ministers

 ¹⁹⁹⁷ c. 29. The functions of the Secretary of State were transferred to the Scottish Ministers by virtue of section 53 of the Scotland Act 1998 (c. 46).

⁽²⁾ S.S.I. 2005/103.

SCHEDULE

Schedule to be substituted for Schedule 1 to the Non Domestic Rating (Rural Areas and Rateable Value Limits) (Scotland) Order 2005.

"SCHEDULE 1

Article 2

DESIGNATED RURAL AREAS

Local authority area 1	Excluded localities 2
Aberdeenshire	Banchory
	Banff
	Ellon
	Fraserburgh
	Huntly
	Inverurie
	Kemnay
	Macduff
	Newtonhill
	Peterhead
	Portlethen
	Stonehaven
	Turiff
	Westhill
Angus	Arbroath
	Brechin
	Carnoustie
	Dundee
	Forfar
	Kirriemuir
	Montrose
Argyll and Bute	Campbeltown
	Dunoon
	Helensburgh
	Oban
	Rothesay
East Ayrshire	Auchinleck
	Cumnock
	2

Local authority area 1	Excluded localities 2
	Darvel
	Galston
	Hurlford and Crookedholm
	Kilmarnock
	Logan
	Mauchline
	New Cumnock
	Newmilns
	Stewarton
North Ayrshire	Ardrossan
	Beith
	Dalry
	Dreghorn
	Irvine
	Kilbirnie
	Kilwinning
	Largs
	Saltcoats
	Springside
	Stevenston
	West Kilbride
South Ayrshire	Ayr
	Girvan
	Maybole
	Prestwick
	Troon
Clackmannanshire	Alloa
	Alva
	Clackmannan
	Tillicoultry
	Tullibody
Dumfries and Galloway	Annan
	Castle Douglas
	Dalbeattie

Local authority area 1	Excluded localities 2
	Dumfries
	Kirkcudbright
	Locharbriggs
	Lockerbie
	Newton Stewart
	Stranraer
East Dunbartonshire	Bearsden
	Bishopbriggs
	Kirkintilloch
	Lennoxtown
	Lenzie
	Milngavie
	Milton of Campsie
West Dunbartonshire	Alexandria
	Bonhill
	Clydebank
	Dumbarton
	Duntocher and Hardgate
	Faifley
	Milton
	Old Kilpatrick
	Renton
Falkirk	Bo'ness
	Bonnybridge
	Carron
	Denny
	Falkirk
	Grangemouth
	Hallglen
	Polmont
	Stenhousemuir
Fife	Anstruther
	Ballingry
	Buckhaven

Local authority area	Excluded localities 2
	Burntisland
	Cardenden
	Cowdenbeath
	Cupar
	Dalgety Bay
	Dunfermline
	Glenrothes
	Inverkeithing
	Kelty
	Kennoway
	Kincardine
	Kirkcaldy
	Leslie
	Leven
	Lochgelly
	Newport-on-Tay
	Oakley
	Rosyth
	St Andrews
	Tayport
Highland	Alness
	Culloden
	Dingwall
	Fort William
	Invergordon
	Inverness
	Nairn
	Smithton
	Tain
	Thurso
	Westhill
	Wick
Inverclyde	Gourock
	Greenock
	_

Local authority area	Excluded localities 2
	Kilmacolm
	Port Glasgow
North Lanarkshire	Airdrie
	Bargeddie
	Bellshill
	Blackwood
	Calderbank
	Carfin
	Chapelhall
	Chryston
	Cleland
	Coatbridge
	Croy
	Cumbernauld
	Glenmavis
	Gowkthrapple
	Holytown
	Kilsyth
	Moodiesburn
	Motherwell
	Muirhead
	Newarthill
	Newmains
	New Stevenston
	Overtown
	Plains
	Shotts
	Stepps
	Viewpark
	Wishaw
South Lanarkshire	Ashgill
	Blantyre
	Bothwell
	Carluke

Local authority area 1	Excluded localities 2
	East Kilbride
	Glasgow
	Hamilton
	Kirkmuirhill and Blackwood
	Lanark
	Larkhall
	Lesmahagow
	Stonehouse
	Strathaven
	Uddingston
East Lothian	Cockenzie
	Dunbar
	Haddington
	Musselburgh
	North Berwick
	Prestonpans
	Tranent
Midlothian	Bilston
	Bonnyrigg
	Dalkeith
	Gorebridge
	Loanhead
	Mayfield
	Penicuik
West Lothian	Armadale
	Bathgate
	Blackburn
	Broxburn
	East Calder
	Fauldhouse
	Linlithgow
	Livingston
	Whitburn
Moray	Buckie
	7

Local authority area	Excluded localities
	2
	Elgin
	Forres
	Keith
	Lossiemouth
Orkney Islands	Kirkwall
Perth and Kinross	Auchterarder
	Blairgowrie
	Crieff
	Kinross
	New Scone
	Perth
East Renfrewshire	Barrhead
	Busby
	Clarkston
	Eaglesham
	Giffnock
	Neilston
	Newton Mearns
Renfrewshire	Bishopton
	Bridge of Weir
	Elderslie
	Erskine
	Houston
	Inchinnan
	Johnstone
	Kilbarchan
	Linwood
	Paisley
	Renfrew
Scottish Borders	Eyemouth
	Galashiels
	Hawick
	Jedburgh
	Kelso
	8

Local authority area	Excluded localities
1	2
	Peebles
	Selkirk
Shetland Islands	Lerwick
Stirling	Bannockburn
	Bridge of Allan
	Dunblane
	Stirling
Western Isles	Stornoway"

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order amends the Non Domestic Rating (Rural Areas and Rateable Value Limits) (Scotland) Order 2005 ("the 2005 Order") by substituting a new Schedule which adds or removes certain localities from column 2 of Schedule 1 to the 2005 Order. This is because the population of those localities has either fallen below or risen above 3,000. The effect of this is that these localities are now to be considered as falling within or outwith the local authority areas designated as rural areas for the purpose of paragraph 1 of Schedule 2 to the Local Government and Rating Act 1997 by article 2 of the 2005 Order.