# SCOTTISH STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

# 2005 No. 487

# RIVER

# SALMON AND FRESHWATER FISHERIES

The Argyll Salmon Fishery District Designation Order 2005

Made	-	-	-	-		3rd October 2005
Coming	into	force	2	-	-	4th October 2005

The Scottish Ministers, on application to them by the Awe District Salmon Fishery Board, having consulted and notice having been given in accordance with Schedule 1 to the Salmon and Freshwater Fisheries (Consolidation) (Scotland) Act 2003(1), and there being no representations or objections duly made, in exercise of the powers conferred by sections 34(2) and 35 of, and Schedule 1 to, that Act and of all other powers enabling them in that behalf, hereby make the following Order:

#### **Citation and commencement**

**1.** This Order may be cited as the Argyll Salmon Fishery District Designation Order 2005 and shall come into force on 4th October 2005.

#### **Designation of the Argyll Salmon Fishery District**

**2.**—(1) The area described in the Schedule to this Order is designated as a salmon fishery district to be known as the Argyll Salmon Fishery District.

(2) The existing Salmon Fishery Districts of Creran; Awe; Nell, Feochan, and Euchar; Add; Ormsary (Loch Killisport), Loch Head River and Stornoway (Mull); Carradale in Cantyre; Loch Fyne; Ruel or Daruel; Drummachloy or Glenmore, Island of Bute; and Iorsa in Arran, being superseded by the district designated by this Order, are abolished.

#### Annual close time

**3.** The annual close time for the district designated by this Order shall be the period from 27th August to 10th February, both dates inclusive, in each year and the period within that time when it is permitted to fish for and take salmon by rod and line shall be the period from 27th August to 31st October, both dates inclusive, in each year.

Pentland House, Edinburgh 3rd October 2005 JOANNA YOUNG A member of the staff of the Scottish Ministers

### SCHEDULE

Article 2(1)

## DESCRIPTION OF DESIGNATED AREA

The area of the Argyll Salmon Fishery District shall be the areas of the following former salmon fishery districts–

1. Creran	The sea coast, estuary and river between a Line drawn from the Southernmost Point of the Mainland immediately North of Eriska Island, and continued along the outer face of that Island to the projecting point of the Mainland nearest to the South-west point of the said Island.
2. Awe	The sea coast, estuary and river between, on the North Point, Appin Ferry, including the East Shore of Lismore Island; on the South, Craignish Point, excepting Loch Crinan, the Loch to be defined by a Line drawn from the Southernmost Point of the Mainland immediately North of Enska Island, and continued along the Outer Face of that Island to the projecting Point of the Mainland nearest to the South-west Point of the said Island, and excepting the Portions of the Sea Coast and Estuary, and River contained between Minard Point and the Bridge from the Mainland over Siel Sound to Siel Island; the Awe District to include all the Islands within the said Limits South of Lismore Island, East of the Island of Mull and North of Jura.
3. Nell, Feochan, and Euchar	The sea coast, estuary and rivers between, on the North, Minard Point and, on the South, the Bridge from the Mainland over Siel Sound to Jul Island.
<b>4.</b> Add	The sea coast, estuary and river between, on the North, Craignish Point and, on the South, Knap Point.
<b>5.</b> Ormsary (Loch Killisport), Loch Head River and Stornoway (Mull)	The sea coast, estuary and rivers between, on the North, Knap Point and, on the South, Mull of Cantyre.
6. Carradale in Cantyre	The sea coast, estuary and river between Skipness Point on North; Mull of Cantyre on South, including Davar and Sanda Islands.
7. Loch Fyne	The sea coast, estuary and rivers between, on the East, Ardlamont Point and, on the West, Skipness Castle Point.

**Status:** This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

8. Ruel or Daruel	The sea coast, estuary and river between, on the West, Ardlamont Point and, on the East, Strone Point, in the Kyles of Bute.
9. Drummachloy or Glenmore, Island of Bute	The whole coasts of the Islands of Bute, Inchmarnoch, Greater and Lesser Cumbraes.
<b>10.</b> Iorsa in Arran	The whole coast of the Island of Arran, including Pladda and Lamlash, or Holy Island.

#### ; and

the catchment area of each river which flows directly or indirectly into the sea on that part of the coast of Argyll and Bute Council area between, in the South, Ordnance Survey Grid Reference NS193806 ("Strone Point, at the North end of Holy Loch") and, in the North, Ordnance Survey Grid Reference NN297042 ("The Old Pier at Arrochar").

### **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order designates the area described in the Schedule as a salmon fishery district to be known as the Argyll Salmon Fishery District (article 2(1)) and abolishes the existing Salmon Fishery Districts which are superseded by it (article 2(2)).

The Order makes provision for the annual close time and for the period within the annual close time during which fishing for and taking salmon by rod and line is permitted (article 3). The annual close time is from 27th August to 10th February, both dates inclusive, in each year. Within the annual close time it is permitted to fish for and take salmon by rod and line in the period from 27th August to 31st October, both dates inclusive, in each year.