SCOTTISH STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2003 No. 211

The Lerwick Harbour Revision (Constitution) Order 2003

PART II

CONSTITUTION

Membership of the Authority

- 3.—(1) On and after the revised constitution date, the Members of the Authority shall be:-
 - (a) three persons nominated and elected by shipowners, qualified as hereinafter provided;
 - (b) three persons nominated and elected by business ratepayers, qualified as hereinafter provided;
 - (c) three persons having been nominated by Shetland Islands Council qualified as hereinafter provided;
 - (d) the Chief Executive and Deputy Chief Executive of the Authority from time to time acting *ex officio*;

and application, appointment or election under sub-paragraphs (a) - (c) of this paragraph shall mean application, appointment or election for the post of Members described in those sub- paragraphs.

- (2) The arrangements for application, appointment or election of Members after the revised constitution date shall be as follows:—
 - (i) All Members shall have their main place of residence in the Shetland Islands.
 - (ii)
- (a) on the election date in the year 2003
 - (i) three Members shall be elected in accordance with sub-paragraph (1)(a) above
 - (ii) three Members shall be elected in accordance with sub-paragraph (1)(b) above
 - (iii) three Members shall be appointed in accordance with sub-paragraph (1)(c) above
 - (iv) two Members shall serve in accordance with sub-paragraph (1)(d) above
- (b) the initial terms to be served by the Members elected or appointed in accordance herewith shall be as follows:—
 - (i) the three Members appointed in accordance with sub-paragraph (1)(c) above shall serve an initial term of one year
 - (ii) the Members elected in terms of sub-paragraph (1)(b) above shall serve an initial term of two years
 - (iii) the three Members elected in terms of sub-paragraph (1)(a) above shall serve an initial term of three years
- (c) on the election date in the year 2004 the arrangements for election and appointment of Members shall be as follows:—

- (i) the three Members appointed in terms of sub-paragraph (1)(c) above shall demit office and shall be entitled to be nominated and appointed as hereinafter provided
- (ii) the remaining Members elected or appointed in terms of sub-paragraphs (1)(a) and (b) above will remain in office
- (d) on the election date in the year 2005 the arrangements for election and appointment of Members shall be as follows:—
 - (i) the three Members elected in terms of sub-paragraph (1)(b) above shall demit office and shall be entitled to be elected and appointed as hereinafter provided
 - (ii) the remaining Members elected or appointed in terms of sub-paragraphs (1)(a) and (c) above will remain in office
- (e) on the election date in the year 2006 the arrangements for election and appointment of Members shall be as follows:—
 - (i) the three Members elected in terms of sub-paragraph (1)(a) above shall demit office and shall be entitled to be elected and appointed as hereinafter provided
 - (ii) the remaining Members elected or appointed in terms of sub-paragraphs 1(b) and (c) above shall remain in office.
- (3) after the expiry of the respective initial terms of office of the Members (other than Members *ex officio*) the term of office of Members shall be three years commencing with the date of the expiry of the initial term of office of the category of Member concerned.