SCOTTISH STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2002 No. 432 (C. 21)

LAND REGISTRATION

The Land Registration (Scotland) Act 1979 (Commencement No. 16) Order 2002

Made - - - 12th September 2002

The Scottish Ministers, in exercise of the powers conferred by section 30(2) of the Land Registration (Scotland) Act 1979(1) and of all other powers enabling them in that behalf, hereby make the following Order:

Citation

1. This Order may be cited as the Land Registration (Scotland) Act 1979 (Commencement No. 16) Order 2002.

Commencement of Provisions

- **2.** Sections 2(1) and (2) and 3(3) of the Land Registration (Scotland) Act 1979 shall come into force on 1st April 2003 in the following areas, for the purpose of registration of writs:–
 - (a) the County of Banff;
 - (b) the County of Moray;
 - (c) the County of Ross and Cromarty;
 - (d) the County of Caithness;
 - (e) the County of Sutherland; and
 - (f) the Counties of Orkney and Zetland.

St Andrew's House, Edinburgh 12th September 2002

JAMES WALLACE
A member of the Scottish Executive

 ¹⁹⁷⁹ c. 33. The functions of the Secretary of State were transferred to the Scottish Ministers by virtue of section 53 of the Scotland Act 1998 (c. 46).

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order brings into force on 1st April 2003 in the areas of the Counties of Banff; Moray, Ross and Cromarty; Caithness; Sutherland; and Orkney and Zetland, sections 2(1) and (2) and 3(3) of the Land Registration (Scotland) Act 1979. Section 2(1) and (2) provides for the circumstances in which an interest in land shall be registerable and section 3(3) provides that certain persons are to obtain a real right only by registration.

NOTE AS TO EARLIER COMMENCEMENT ORDERS

(This note is not part of the Order)

Sections 2(1) and (2) and 3(3) of the Land Registration (Scotland) Act 1979 have been brought into force by commencement orders made before the date of this Order in relation to the following areas—

Registration Areas	Date of Commencement	S.I. No.
Renfrew	06/04/1981	1980/1412
Dumbarton	04/10/1982	1982/520
Lanark	03/01/1984	1983/745
Glasgow	30/09/1985	1985/501
Clackmannan	01/10/1992	1992/815
Stirling	01/04/1993	1992/2060
West Lothian	01/10/1993	1993/922
Fife	01/04/1995	1994/2588
Aberdeen, Kincardine	01/04/1996	1995/2547
Ayr, Dumfries, Stewartry of Kirkcudbright, Wigtown	01/04/1997	1996/2490
Perth, Angus, Kinross	01/04/1999	1998/1810
Berwick, East Lothian, Roxburgh, Selkirk, Peebles	01/10/1999	1998/2980
Argyll, Bute	01/04/2000	S.S.I. 1999/111
Midlothian	01/04/2001	S.S.I. 2000/338
Inverness, Nairn	01/04/2002	S.S.I. 2001/309

S.I. 1980/1412 also brought into force on 6th April 1981 all the other provisions of the Act, except those which, under section 30(2) of the Act, came into operation on the passing of the Act.